Chocolate Thumbprints II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
I loved these cookies! I rolled the first batch in the egg mixture and didn't care for thelook of them so the next batch I just rolled in sugar and skipped the egg and I think they looked much nicer. They tasted delicious both ways though. My family gobbled them up and I sent them out for Christmas too. Melody
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Whether or not to use the egg bath called for in this recipe isn't the biggest issue because the cookie isn't worth making either way. I rolled the dough balls in sugar and the cookies did turn out pretty. I had no issues with them being flat or with cracking. The problem is, they just don't taste that great and the texture is rather disagreeable as well. I expect a chocolate cookie to be chocolatey! These suffered in chocolate intensity. The crumb, while moist, is not of the chewy consistency you'd expect. While hubby and I don't always agree, we did on these cookies, right down to giving them only 2 stars. The bottom line is, the most flavor came from the chocolate kiss! Without it, these would have been pretty much tasteless baked dough balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
This was my first non chocolate chip cookie recipe. It was easy to make although I wasn't sure about the egg whites. I made one batch rolling the dough in egg whites and sugar. No one really liked them. I made another batch without rolling the dough in the egg whites but still rolled it in sugar and everyone loved them. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of peppermint extract. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These cookies are wonderful- especially right out of the oven when the kisses are still warm. I did as others suggested and did not roll the cookie in egg whites and then in the sugar. I just rolled it in sugar. I did not put the indentation in the cookie before I baked them, either I just put the kiss right in as soon as they came out of the oven. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
yummy and easy to make, i did 4 cookies in egg whites as a test and found that you can get better results with out that step, just rolling in sugar is fine. i brought them to work for the holidays and they were gone in less than 3 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I don't care for the look of the cookies with the egg on them. When I took the suggestion of simply rolling them in sugar, they looked great! Also, I had to cut down the cooking time because my first batch was very dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
These are a must for chocolate lovers. Made them with my 4 year old daughter and they turned out great. The only change we made was that we did not roll the balls in egg whites...the sugar had no problem sticking to the dough without it and the sugar gave it a slightly crispy outside while the inside stayed moist. YUMMY! We made them for Christmas and used red and green sugar sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
a pretty good cookie. the first batch i made with margarine. big mistake. they fell completely apart and didn't look to appealing. for the second batch i decided to whip out and pick up some butter. i used cold butter.. broken down with a fork.. then combined with my hands until it was a good enough texture to use the electric mixer. (first time i had butter stuck on my ceiling. oops :P). the came out much better. i skipped out the egg white addition at the end as they were sticky enough to hold the sugar on them. plus. i found the egg white made them stick to the pan and made the sugar not look so appealing after baking. the second batch looks exactly like the picture. yay!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahlahh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
sadly, no one liked these. They looked cute, but as my friend said, they're not worth the calories. Even my kids just picked the kisses off the top and left the cookie. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
ehh...not the greatest cookie. I may be to blame though, I put the egg whites in the dough and then had to add more flour, not sure what affect that had. I added 1 tsp peppermint extract and an extra ounce of chocolate so they were very tasty, just not the best texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States