Chocolate Thumbprints II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Elizabeth Cramer
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
twas quite yummililicious! (don't use the egg white batter on the outside) but they were VERY yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Cramer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Got inspiration when I saw mint truffle candy kisses in the grocery store. Had a mint choc cookie years ago but ingredients no longer available. Had seen similar cookies that were peanut butter with the chocolate-hoped I would find a chocolate version-thrilled to find this one. Love the way they turned out-hope they keep making the mint truffle kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Whether or not to use the egg bath called for in this recipe isn't the biggest issue because the cookie isn't worth making either way. I rolled the dough balls in sugar and the cookies did turn out pretty. I had no issues with them being flat or with cracking. The problem is, they just don't taste that great and the texture is rather disagreeable as well. I expect a chocolate cookie to be chocolatey! These suffered in chocolate intensity. The crumb, while moist, is not of the chewy consistency you'd expect. While hubby and I don't always agree, we did on these cookies, right down to giving them only 2 stars. The bottom line is, the most flavor came from the chocolate kiss! Without it, these would have been pretty much tasteless baked dough balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
DONT DO THE EGG BATH. OTHERWISE THEY TURNED OUT GOOD, MINE WERE A LITTLE FLAT, BUT I BLAME THAT ON MY SELF - VERY TASTY EVEN FLAT! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I've made these a few times - usually adding peppermint extract & candy cane kisses. The cookie is pretty - but taste isn't that great. I never do the egg white either - just a roll in sugar. This was my 'go-to' recipe for a cute xmas cookie - but now I have a better chocolate cookie recipe...the one on the bakers chocolate box! It's for a soft & chewy cookie - and instead of the topping they suggest - I put on the candy cane kiss. I made both this recipe & the bakers box recipe today - and everyone agrees the baker box cookies were better. So - I guess I'm done with this recipe. Thanks for all the years!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These cookies are SO cute and taste great. I made one batch with the egg whites and found it much better when I did NOT use the egg whites. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steppedonalego

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I used the new hershey kisses cherry cordials in the middle of these and wow! everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
sadly, no one liked these. They looked cute, but as my friend said, they're not worth the calories. Even my kids just picked the kisses off the top and left the cookie. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Great and easy to make. I eliminated the egg white step also, and used the new cherry cordial kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
a pretty good cookie. the first batch i made with margarine. big mistake. they fell completely apart and didn't look to appealing. for the second batch i decided to whip out and pick up some butter. i used cold butter.. broken down with a fork.. then combined with my hands until it was a good enough texture to use the electric mixer. (first time i had butter stuck on my ceiling. oops :P). the came out much better. i skipped out the egg white addition at the end as they were sticky enough to hold the sugar on them. plus. i found the egg white made them stick to the pan and made the sugar not look so appealing after baking. the second batch looks exactly like the picture. yay!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahlahh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States