Chocolate Thumbprints I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
Came out great the first time I made them and everone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
a little messy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
These were sooo good, a few comments I received: "these could be dangerous", "very addicting". I melted white chocolate for the center instead of glaze and then I drizzled the leftover chocolate on top of the cookies for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Very yummy. Easy to make. I like this way better than the ones where the kiss is baked onto the cookie. Since these were made with the Christmas cookies they were around for a few days. One night we reheated them with a bowl of vanilla ice cream. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
YUMMY! We doubled the batch and are going to make them again. I am sure we will eat them all! (Baking time took about 2 min. longer, but we may have made larger cookies than the recipe called for.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeeBeeN
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These are wonderful cookies. I have added these to my Christmas cookie must bake list, as everyone always asks for them. The recipe is perfect and needs no tweaks. One time I didn't have butter on hand so I substituted butter flavored Crisco, and they were still great. Beware, though, THEY ARE ADDICTING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
A good chocolate cookie. I was looking for a chocolate cookie that I could add my peanut M&M's to and this worked perfectly minus the nuts and confection filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These cookies were pretty good. I thought it was very strange that they didn't call for any baking powder/soda, and although the finished product was good, they weren't great, so I won't be making them again. I made no changes to the recipe, except to make them a bit smaller. I also only rolled about half the balls in nuts, because my sister is allergic, and not too many of my family members care for them. I felt that although the cookie itself was good, (I slightly underbaked them, so they had a rich, fudgy texture) the frosting just didn't fit with the rest of the cookie. I think they would be better if the frosting was entirely skipped, and the kisses were placed directly onto the hot cookie (made without the thumbprint, of course!) Thanks for sharing, but I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The taste of these is okay, but I wouldn't make them again how they are directed to make. The thumbprint was gone after baking, so I had to indent again after baking. On my first batch, I added the frosting and kiss while the cookies were warm as directed, but all they did was melt. On my second batch, I re-indented the cookies immediately after baking, and then let them cool. Then I piped in the frosting and added the kiss. This worked much better and the kisses maintained their "kiss" shape. I did not roll in nuts, but instead in holiday sprinkles. I then used candy cane and mint truffle Hershey Kisses. Kids loved them and didn't care how they looked. Cute idea - just needs a little tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These are DELICIOUS!! I made a couple changes though. I did not roll in egg white & walnuts, instead I rolled each ball in sugar & did not indent. I only baked for 8 minutes then let them cool for about 1 minute before lightly pressing the kisses in the center. Some of the kisses did melt slightly but not too bad. I also left out the frosting. They were perfect with just the kiss. Soft, fudgy, chocolatey...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States