Chocolate Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Just made this this morning because I was so desperate for chocolate milk! Used it right out of the saucepan and totally hit the spot ?? I used half regular cocoa and half dark powder and it is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Even good when we have used sucanat (the least processed raw sugar we know of). The taste is modified a little by that, but I personally like that flavor change. More than that, the added minerals help keep me from having to deal with increased auto-immune flare-ups (mine are relatively mild when I watch how much of this kind of thing I enjoy, especially when I avoid white sugar and white flour, corn and potatoes - at least for the most part.....).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erwinkprs
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This recipe was very easy to follow and took no time at all. Since my husband doesn't like chocolate, I replaced the cocoa powder and sugar with lentils and carrots. I also took out the vanilla extract and instead added some celery, garlic and vinegar. It was the best chocolate syrup my husband ever tasted, will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Err'body loved it over vanilla ice cream. Followed fellow users advice to melt sugar in water (I used a little less than asked for of milk) before adding cocoa. Perfecto consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Easy to make and tastes good. Does not thicken on stove top. I cooked mine for at least 15 minutes. Boiled it more than once, nothing. It cooled and thickened in the frig. If you cool on counter and stir ever few minutes you can avoid the top skimming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Perfect. No changes needed, that's for sure! My Husband said, if I hadn't told him that the chocolate milk I served was made with this homemade chocolate syrup, he wouldn't have known the difference from Hershey's! He LOVED it, and I do, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is so easy to make and delicious. Note: syrup thickens while cooling. Some one that rated this recipe said hers didn't thicken so she added a cornstarch slurie. No need.??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This chocolate syrup is fantastic! Yes better than Hershey's syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich Humphries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I will never buy chocolate syrup at the grocery store again! I was out and my daughter drinks milk much better with a little chocolate in it, so I decided to try my hand at making my own, and came across this recipe. It's amazing, I might not be able to share with her! Velvety and smooth and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! Seriously I ran out of syrup one day and decided since I have cocoa powder on hand at all times I'd try to make my own. Looked up a recipe and decided to go with this one. I did add 1/2 cup more sugar since I used the unsweetened dark cocoa powder. It took a bit longer than I thought it would, but it thickened up nicely. I was able to almost completely refill my bottle of store bought syrup with this recipe. This is actually better than the Hershey's syrup! This has earned it's spot in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States