Chocolate Swirl Zucchini Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This cake turned out perfectly with a few changes to the directions. After reading the reviews, I used a sheet cake pan plus an 8X8 square pan because I did not want the cake overflowing in my oven. I did substitute 1/2 C of applesauce for 1/2 C of the oil and decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup. Also I added 1 tsp of almond extract to the cream cheese mixture while beating it. It took about 40 minutes baking time in glass pans before both cakes were done. Next time I make this recipe I will try it with egg replacement since one family member is allergic to eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a very delicious, chocolate dessert for any and all chocolate lovers. The cream cheese batter swirl just sets it all off!! Very good use of extra zucchini in the garden!! I used only semi-sweet mini chips on the top since I am not a milk chocolate fan. I also added a tsp of ground cinnamon for some extra flavor. I agree with some of the other people who have rated this recipe---baking time is at least 1 hr total for the 9x15 pan. I have made this a few times and found that by putting a loose foil cover on about 1/2 way through the baking process it keeps the edges from getting too dry. Going to have a family get together in a few weeks and plan on making this again for that occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made this for my son's 1st birthday party. Everyone loved it. Even those who normally hate zucchini gobbled it up-and then had seconds! I made a small cake for my son (to destroy) and if I hadn't, the 9x13" pan would probably have overflowed while baking. They also took about an hour to bake. The only other alteration I made was to replace the milk chocolate chips with white chocolate chips. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa S.
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This makes a jelly-roll pan size - not 9 x 13! Baking time is correct when you use the larger pan. Wonderfully moist, zucchini is not detectable (other than you can see it). My entire family LOVED this - including my kids who hate zucchini. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Definitely too much batter for one 9x13 pan. I also would make a dozen cupcakes with part of the batter. Baking time is closer to 45 to 50 minutes if you put all the batter in the cake pan. Otherwise a very good recipe. I topped it with white chocolate and semisweet chips, coconut and pecans and it was delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
As written, this cake just did not work for me. It took 55-60 minutes to bake, rising way up to the top of the pan. And though I liked the idea of the cream cheese, the baking batter pushed all of the swirls toward the center of the pan, concentrating the cream cheese in the middle. By the next day, the center was unpleasantly gobby and wet. If I ever decide to try this again, I'll put the batter in a jellyroll pan, leave out the cream cheese and chocolate chips (which sank anyway), and frost it. In the meantime, I'll stick with my usual chocolate zucchini cake recipe and batter that isn't so soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DLD
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This cake is good as is and would also be fun to play with the ingredients. It was extremely moist. I cut the recipe down to 1/3 and it fit perfectly into an 8x8 pan. As other reviewers have noted, the baking time was very off. I cooked at 375 for 25 minutes then lowered the temperature to 350 and baked an additional 20 minutes. A minor change I made to the recipe was using half veggie oil and half applesauce instead of canola oil. I also used low-fat cream cheese. Neither change compromised the recipe whatsoever. It was good and I will probably be making this again with a bit of tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fantastic, very moist and not too sweet, but definitely bake for an hour, and it makes lots, I made a 9x13 pan and an 8x10 pan with one recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This cake was great. Nice and moist. I did find that the cooking time listed was out. I had to cook it for an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This recipe was very disappointing. There was too much batter to fit in the 13X9 baking pan, so it overflowed while baking. It took twice as long to cook than the recipe stated. The taste was very oily. A lot of ingredients and preparation for a below average cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States