Chocolate Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Wonderful cookies. I rarely give 5 stars but these deserve them! They were a huge, huge hit in our home. The cookie texture is soft, almost cake-like and not too sweet. A great treat, and not hard to make like some other reviews stated. It was not any messier than a standard cookie recipe. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I just made this cookies and they're very good! I used a small cookie scoop and got 32 cookies out of one batch. I didn't use pecans on top because my kids wouldn't eat them anyway. Instead of brushing the frosting on (I couldn't figure out how exactly to do that) I turned the cookies upside down and dipped the marshmallow portion into the warm frosting. Then I allowed the excess frosting to drip off before placing the cookie back on the cooling grid right side up. They're very nice looking cookies. The frosting has a nice sheen when it cools. I think I'll make some for the holidays and put some sprinkles on top while the frosting is still 'wet.' This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Loved these cookies! I actually looked up the ingredients hoping to find these, because my friend's similar recipe just said, "put a marshmallow on top." And I didn't know if it meant a large or small one. (I made large cookies and put a whole large marshmallow on top. My family loved it, but I am not big on marshmallows.) I think a halve of the large is perfect. As for the frosting: with the trouble everyone is having, try substituting the 1 cup of white sugar with 3 cups of powered sugar. (As my friend's recipe calls for. Here is the exact frosting recipe: 1 square unsweetened chocolate(or 3 tbsp. cocoa and 1 tbs. shortening or oil), 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup milk, 3 cups powered sugar, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Melt chocolate. Add butter and milk. Bring to a boil, while stirring constantly. Stir while boiling for 1 minute. Sift in powered sugar. Mix well. Add vanilla and stir in well. After you let cookies cool, frost them.) Do not overcook. I tried 10 minutes and they were too dry. Stick to 8 minutes. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
No kidding, one of the best cookies I have ever made. I read a review that had a lot to say about the mess which I didn't really understand. It was just a couple mixing bowls, measuring cups and a baking pan and some beaters to clean up just like any other cookie! I say make them for sure. I used mini marshmellows (2) since I didn't have any large and topped some with chopped nuts and some without. These are chewy and chocolatey like a brownie but with something "extra". As for the icing, brushing it on did seem like it may make it difficult so I just drizzled in on with a small spatula and they looked fabulous! You can't eat just one of these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I like that this dessert was very different from other desserts that I made but I didn't use the pecans because I am very allergic to them and also I am very allergic to almonds and other tree nuts. I will decide to make this again some time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These cookies turned out great. I didn't have enough ingredients to make the frosting, but the marshmallow on top was fine all by itself. I thought the marshmallows would be too sticky to press down, but I was wrong - it was perfect(I used the back of a spatula to press the marshmallows down). If you are planning to freeze these cookies (like I am), be sure to use plastic wrap between cookies to prevent sticking. The only down-side to this recipe - it did not make as much as I wanted. I doubled the recipe, and after using a small icecream scoop to scoop the dough, it still only made about 38 cookies. Still, these were great and worth remaking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I made these cookies for my kids' Valentine's Day parties at school. Instead of the large marshmallows, we used 2 of the little ones - worked excellent! Didn't use the pecans as the schools are nut free. Also, with the icing - all I did was drizzle it over the cookies using the end of my spatula! They look great and my husband loves them - says they taste like cookie/brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was soooooo good! just the number of how many cookies it made was off. My freind and I made these quit easily. I would definitly recomend this recipe to my freinds and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I'll be making these for a long time! I didn't use the frosting or nuts; they're fine the way they are. In the future, I'd like to brown the marshmallows slightly in order to give it a s'mores-style texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious cookies. As a plain chocolate cookie...ok, but with the marshmallow, awesome! I did leave out the pecan for personal preferance and i could probably go without the chocolate glaze. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States