Chocolate Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
everyone loved them they did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious cookies. As a plain chocolate cookie...ok, but with the marshmallow, awesome! I did leave out the pecan for personal preferance and i could probably go without the chocolate glaze. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I had problems getting everything mixed to where it didn't fall apart all over the cookie sheet. Other than that, they tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Loved these cookies! I actually looked up the ingredients hoping to find these, because my friend's similar recipe just said, "put a marshmallow on top." And I didn't know if it meant a large or small one. (I made large cookies and put a whole large marshmallow on top. My family loved it, but I am not big on marshmallows.) I think a halve of the large is perfect. As for the frosting: with the trouble everyone is having, try substituting the 1 cup of white sugar with 3 cups of powered sugar. (As my friend's recipe calls for. Here is the exact frosting recipe: 1 square unsweetened chocolate(or 3 tbsp. cocoa and 1 tbs. shortening or oil), 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup milk, 3 cups powered sugar, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Melt chocolate. Add butter and milk. Bring to a boil, while stirring constantly. Stir while boiling for 1 minute. Sift in powered sugar. Mix well. Add vanilla and stir in well. After you let cookies cool, frost them.) Do not overcook. I tried 10 minutes and they were too dry. Stick to 8 minutes. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I'll be making these for a long time! I didn't use the frosting or nuts; they're fine the way they are. In the future, I'd like to brown the marshmallows slightly in order to give it a s'mores-style texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was soooooo good! just the number of how many cookies it made was off. My freind and I made these quit easily. I would definitly recomend this recipe to my freinds and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Wonderful cookies. I rarely give 5 stars but these deserve them! They were a huge, huge hit in our home. The cookie texture is soft, almost cake-like and not too sweet. A great treat, and not hard to make like some other reviews stated. It was not any messier than a standard cookie recipe. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
No kidding, one of the best cookies I have ever made. I read a review that had a lot to say about the mess which I didn't really understand. It was just a couple mixing bowls, measuring cups and a baking pan and some beaters to clean up just like any other cookie! I say make them for sure. I used mini marshmellows (2) since I didn't have any large and topped some with chopped nuts and some without. These are chewy and chocolatey like a brownie but with something "extra". As for the icing, brushing it on did seem like it may make it difficult so I just drizzled in on with a small spatula and they looked fabulous! You can't eat just one of these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is a good recipe as in it all works out. I did get 36 cookies. However, it is very complicated and the finished product tastes just like something you can buy at the store already made. While the taste was very good it was just not worth messing up all my pans, utensils and entire kitchen!! If you decide to make these, be aware of the time you will spend making these and cleaning up afterwards. My son enjoyed helping putting the marshmallows on. I topped with almonds instead of pecans. When i frosted the cookies, I set them on a wire rack with foil underneath. I had to scrape the foil and reapply the frosting twice. It did not "set" until the next day. But don't skip the frosting because it is the tastiest part. It was something different but I won't make again...not because of the taste or it didn't turn out right, because of the mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These cookies were a dissapointment. I didn't care for the texture of the cookie and the frosting remained a little sticky and gooey even after the cookies had sat for a while. They looked good but were difficult to manage due to the sticky marshmallow and sticky frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAGAGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States