Chocolate Surprise Milkshake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This recipe was awesome. If you like chocolate then you'll like this. I don't suggest that you put chocolate chips in. Also, I only got 1 serving out f it instead of 2. But other than that,it's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
noone was eating the icecream in the fridge so I decided to make this. I added 1 1/2 scoops of icecream, more milk. My sister really liked the chocolate chips in the shake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
There's not enough liquid in this recipe to "mix", at least not when I put all the ingredients in the mixer. Everything just kind of stood there and I had to use a spoon to shuffle the contents, then I had to add more milk (about 1/2 cup?) just to get things moving on a consistent basis. Last, there were 2-3 large chunks of ice leftover in the shake, and I had the blender on the next to highest speed. Taste was finally ok, but would probably leave out about 1/2 the chocolate syrup. For me, just too much modification to the recipe for it to be complete and work in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I used hot chocolate drink mix instead of chocolate drink mix, but otherwise made exactly according to the recipe and it was so good! I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made this for one this morning, adding a tablespoon of instant coffee granules. Reminds me of the Big Train coffee drinks that I love so much here from my favorite coffee stand. God bless you for posting this recipe. TIP: Next time I'm thinking of adding smushed Oreo cookies to make it more like a Cookies and Cream Big Train.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
it was great. i just added some chocolate chips to the top of the shake after pouring it into the cup. twice the chocolate!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Alice Brandon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I love chocolate milkshakes. Not so fond of the chocolate chips though. The pieces kind of froze and were crunchy. It might be because of my blender though?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This recipe is good but needs a few changes, first it was delicious but a bit chocolaty so i added a scoop of vanilla icecream also, it didn't make that much so i would double the amounts that the recipe gives you. Also it turns out very good but the ice might not blend as well and might make it a bit chunky, but the good thing is ice is water so it can melt! Overall this is a very good recipe and I would reccomend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
It's like drinking cake batter; not at all like a milkshake. It was tasty, but I am NOT impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Whoa, this should be named death by chocolate shake! There was no way my mixer was going to budge, and I have a strong one, with 2 tsp of milk. I ended up using 3 Tblsp. and it worked. For the chocolate drink mix I used Ovaltine, as it didn't specify. The only other change I made was using low fat dairy products and sugar free chocolate syrup, which I do all the time. It was just too much chocolate for me with chocolate ice cream, chocolate malt, chocolate syrup, and chocolate chips. The ingredients increased their richness together. I could drink about 1/2 of the half a cup or so serving. I also had picked this one for the lowest of the calories, per shake, but now I am starting to wonder about the accuracy of the numbers considering all the ingredients. The other person did finish off their drink no problem though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Apple Honey Shake

Find out how to make a refreshing blended juice drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States