Chocolate Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gehbienes
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I think these cookies place a nice spin on chocolate sugar cookies. They're chewy and delicious. After recently coming across cinnamon M&M's, I decided to make these cookies with them. They're yummy. The cinnamon/chocolate flavor is subtle - and I would keep it that way. The only other thing I did differently was to replace the shortening with butter. When I did that, I chilled the cookie dough in the fridge for an hour before shaping and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These did not work out at all. Dough was extremely sticky so I put in the fridge which then hardened too much. They spread waaay too much in the oven. The taste was really lacking and I think the cinnamon overpowered. I had even doubled the chocolate as was suggested by other and it still was not chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good cookies. Instead of rolling dough out and cutting shapes, I rolled dough into balls and sugared them. They needed a little more cooking time, but they came out nice and chewy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Yummy but didnt keep their shape at all - made big puddles of cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacey
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This makes a great simple dough to roll out and cut with cookie cutters. I didn't have mollases and needed a brown cookie for dog bone shaped cookies. So this was perfect! I like the hint of cinnamon and doubled the chocolate as suggested by others. I baked for 10 minutes. Recipes with shortening will be crispy if you bake too long, so it's better to underbake if you don't want a crispy cookie. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Was looking for a nice chocolaty sugar cookie, this one is not it, has a dull flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These cookies were not chewy, but more crunchy like a snap cookie. We also had trouble rolling them out, so we ended up just rolling them into balls and then rolling them in sugar before baking. They are a nice change, not too chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Hendrickson Butts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Pretty good flavor--not too chocolatey or cinnamony. However they were not chewy, but a nice crisp cookie to ice for Christmas or Valentine's Day. Don't put too close together on the cookie sheet though, because they do grow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I doubled up on the chocolate and the sugar, but these cookies still were not very chocolatey. The cinnamon pretty much takes over the flavor, and I wouldn't exactly describe them as "chewy". However, I still give these cookies a higher rating, because they are quite tasty and they are still a nice change for cut out cookies. I also varied the recipe and drizzled white chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States