Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This shortcake has a very rustic look to it which i really love! i was looking for a good, basic no-egg shortcake recipe when i found this one with the powdered chocolate added. instead of baking in 2 pans, tho, I baked it in one 8x8 square pan at 375 degrees for about 30-35 minutes. also, even tho it's not too sweet, i replaced a little of the sugar with powdered stevia. i really did love some of the other reviewers ideas as to additional options that might be used, too. anyway, this is going in my recipe file as a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Made as directed with a couple changes - made the recipe one and half to insure that I would have enough to serve 12 people. I added a bit more sugar to the batter 1/2 cup instead of 1/3 and put less sugar in the strawberries as they were very sweet on their own. I also added about 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips. I dropped the dough (approximately 1/3 cup per shortcake) on cookie sheets to make individual shortcakes and used real whipped cream rather than frozen whipped topping. Baked @ 375 for 12-15 minutes until the tops looked dry/cracked. Real hit with the family and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
My family loves my regular strawberry shortcake and we all love chocolate so I thought I'd give this a try. It was a hit! I dropped large spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet and made 8 individual shortcakes and topped them with strawberries, chocolate ice cream and whipped cream. Really good. The shortcakes aren't very sweet, but aren't supposed to be. Real shortcakes are like biscuits, not cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent, light shortcake which acts as the perfect base for fresh, local strawberries. The texture is that of a delicate scone. I plopped eight mounds of dough onto a silicone sheet lined cookie sheet and baked for 10 minutes, so I could make individual mini shortcakes. I used 35% whipping cream with the sweet strawberries. The hint of cocoa is FABULOUS! Great idea! This receipe is quick, easy, tasty, and is bound to become one of my "go-to" summer desserts for years to come - so I thank you kindly for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Easy recipe but soooo delicious. My son and I loved it. I did make one adjustment to the shortcake, I added about 2 oz of strawberry gelatine to the step # 2 which make the cake more moist and added more of strawberry taste to the layers. I will be making this again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
A nearly identical recipe has been in my family for years. It is a wonderful recipe, but you do have to understand that the cake is a shortcake, not a typical American butter cake. It is not very moist and has only a slight chocolate flavor that really allows the strawberries to shine. I only serve this cake with real whipped cream (flavored with a bit of vanilla), and a homemade chocolate sauce. The chocolate sauce soaks into the cake and the whipped cream compensates for the less sweet cake. All together it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOANNMK
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
We LOVED this recipe using Sweetened Whipped Cream from this site instead of Cool Whip. I can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
People love this dessert, I've been making it for years now and it's a frequent request for gatherings. Last time I make it with margarine and rice milk and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I scaled by half and added another T of sugar to the shortcake. Used Redi-Whip Chocolate squirt can with strawberries and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I liked it i used white chocolate instead of syrup, i think that some people are confused on what coco powder is its not going to make the biscuit super sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States