Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I think some of the people who were not happy with this recipe might be confused about what "shortcake" is. Maybe they were expecting "cake". Shortcake is supposed to be more like a biscuit or scone. I think this is a really good recipe, though you're doing it a big disservice if you use frozen whipped topping instead of real whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Looks beautiful, tastes delicious. I had a hard time cutting it. It was falling all over the place. I had large strawberries, so the slices were huge. I would probably cut the strawberries in quarters first and then slice. And do not add chocolate topping until right before you serve it, otherwise it melts on top of it and looks stupid. I definately recommend this recipe to anyone who loves a strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Easy and very simple to make. I added a teaspoon of almond extract to the batter and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
A nearly identical recipe has been in my family for years. It is a wonderful recipe, but you do have to understand that the cake is a shortcake, not a typical American butter cake. It is not very moist and has only a slight chocolate flavor that really allows the strawberries to shine. I only serve this cake with real whipped cream (flavored with a bit of vanilla), and a homemade chocolate sauce. The chocolate sauce soaks into the cake and the whipped cream compensates for the less sweet cake. All together it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this for a family Easter dinner yesterday & assembled it where we were having dinner,everyone was oohing & aahing over as it looked amazing & delicious.However,the cake itself was boring & bland.I would make this again with a regular 9" chocolate cake sliced horizontally for layers.Very disappointing taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of Four

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
There was nothing special about this dessert. The cake layers were okay. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Even before I poured the batter in the pan, I could tell that this was not going to work for me. I followed the recipe and am an experienced baker, but still the cake came out very dry and tasteless. I'm giving two stars only because we were still able to eat the strawberries, whipped cream, and chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This yummy treat not only looked great, but tasted delicious. Best of all, it was super low-maintenance to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Used this for 4th of July with both strawberries and blueberries. Added sparklers on top. Travelled very well..took cakes in their disposable tins and berries in a bag. Used ReddiWhip instead of making my own. Great hit with even the finicky crowd! No leftovers and no mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I was somewhat disappointed in this recipe. I didn't think the cocoa added much flavor and the whipped topping was definitely a turn off. For me, there is no substitute for real whipped cream. My personal best is strawberries served on just baked croissants with whipped cream topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States