Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
The cake came out perfectly! This is one of the best I've ever made - it tasted delicious and looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
We don't add the chocolate to the shortcake and we always have to be careful to remember that the recipe gives us the instructions to make the strawberries and also the shortcake. When looking at the total amount of sugar, you have to be careful that you are separating how much sugar you are putting in the strawberries and how much in the shortcake. This recipe is outstanding, and we've really enjoyed this recipe. We've had it about five times now and it always turns out great. Before cooking, the dough is nice and perfect. Its crumbly texture is perfect before and after you stretch the dough out on the cooking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This yummy treat not only looked great, but tasted delicious. Best of all, it was super low-maintenance to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this for a family Easter dinner yesterday & assembled it where we were having dinner,everyone was oohing & aahing over as it looked amazing & delicious.However,the cake itself was boring & bland.I would make this again with a regular 9" chocolate cake sliced horizontally for layers.Very disappointing taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Hughes Cormier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I was somewhat disappointed in this recipe. I didn't think the cocoa added much flavor and the whipped topping was definitely a turn off. For me, there is no substitute for real whipped cream. My personal best is strawberries served on just baked croissants with whipped cream topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
the cake was not as good as i thought it would be, but after i added the strawberries it was great, don't give up on this recipe until youve put it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a really yummy cake. I took the strawberries and poored them on the cake (after poking holes in the cake) then poored the chocolate syrup over and refridgerated. Didn't have any whipped cream but I didn't miss it. This was soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
There was nothing special about this dessert. The cake layers were okay. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
this is the worst recipe i have ever tried from this site. after following the recipe to the letter, i found that it was still raw and doughy after the allotted baking time. even the cake tester came out clean!! but the cake was still raw! what a waste of ingredients!! never again will i try this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Simply excellent! Looks wonderful and is a nice change for company and families. Put it together in just minutes after you've pre-baked the cakes and thawed the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States