Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this for a family Easter dinner yesterday & assembled it where we were having dinner,everyone was oohing & aahing over as it looked amazing & delicious.However,the cake itself was boring & bland.I would make this again with a regular 9" chocolate cake sliced horizontally for layers.Very disappointing taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of Four

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I was somewhat disappointed in this recipe. I didn't think the cocoa added much flavor and the whipped topping was definitely a turn off. For me, there is no substitute for real whipped cream. My personal best is strawberries served on just baked croissants with whipped cream topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
the cake was not as good as i thought it would be, but after i added the strawberries it was great, don't give up on this recipe until youve put it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a really yummy cake. I took the strawberries and poored them on the cake (after poking holes in the cake) then poored the chocolate syrup over and refridgerated. Didn't have any whipped cream but I didn't miss it. This was soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
There was nothing special about this dessert. The cake layers were okay. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
this is the worst recipe i have ever tried from this site. after following the recipe to the letter, i found that it was still raw and doughy after the allotted baking time. even the cake tester came out clean!! but the cake was still raw! what a waste of ingredients!! never again will i try this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Simply excellent! Looks wonderful and is a nice change for company and families. Put it together in just minutes after you've pre-baked the cakes and thawed the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Used this for 4th of July with both strawberries and blueberries. Added sparklers on top. Travelled very well..took cakes in their disposable tins and berries in a bag. Used ReddiWhip instead of making my own. Great hit with even the finicky crowd! No leftovers and no mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Looks beautiful, tastes delicious. I had a hard time cutting it. It was falling all over the place. I had large strawberries, so the slices were huge. I would probably cut the strawberries in quarters first and then slice. And do not add chocolate topping until right before you serve it, otherwise it melts on top of it and looks stupid. I definately recommend this recipe to anyone who loves a strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I first found this recipe in our hometown paper and made it several times. Six years ago we moved and the recipe did not make the move. Thanks to allrecipes.com I found it again and it will be my wife's birthday celebration cake this year. We are so-o-o excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States