Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I found the chocolate a bit hard to deal with at first so I added vegetable shortening and melted again. This worked out a lot better for me, otherwise this is wonderful and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
My wife and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I USED SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE (CHOCOLATE CHIPS) AND THIS RECIPE CAME OUT GREAT! IT CAN'T GET ANY EASIER AND EVERYONE RAVED ABOOUT THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
These are really easy and impressive! Just a few pointers I learned from Hubby the Produce Clerk: 1. Wash the berries (they can be sandy) and always dry strawberries (pat with a kitchen towel) or they mush up really fast.2.When you melt chocolate in the microwave, it's easy to burn it if you keep cooking it until it loses its shape. When the chocolate chips look glossy, stir them and micro on in short increments until it stirs smooth. You have to serve these within the day because the heat from the chocolate makes the berries skin go squishy before long. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden variety elf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: District Heights, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Use small bamboo skewers, let the strawberries dry and roll them in either crushed/chopped almonds, pecans, macadamias - I had alot of fun with this project!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
who doesn't like choc. covered strawberries - i was just stunned at how easy it all was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I experimented with several chocolate covered strawberry recipes this week and this one worked great. I did not place in the refrigerator and just left them on my counter to harden. This is so easy, my kids were helping make some and even requested this as an afterschool snack. We tried other things to dip including grapes and gummy bears (those were awesome).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I have been doing this on my own for years. I just thought I would include some other information I hope might help some out. Make sure to use room temperature, washed and thoroughly dried strawberries. Often I will go to the local specialty market where I can hand pick individual strawberries to get the perfect size and shape. I bring them home, wash and let them dry. I generally hold mine by the stem into the chocolate and spoon the chocolate over them...I learned from experience that often when dipping them the stem will break off otherwise...so mine are more chocolate covered strawberries than chocolate dipped. I then place mine on wax paper lined trays. Sometimes I drizzle mine with some melted white chocolate for an elegant touch. Then I refrigerate about an hour. Be sure to use high qualtiy chocolate...and no need to add shortening either. I never liked it that way (some recipes call for it) I personally don't like using it because of the trans fat. They don't last long! And, they are wonderful for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
870 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Chocolate dipped strawberries are delicious, and this is one of the most easy recipies I have tried. I used three pounds of strawberries and 18 blocks of 'Baker's' Bittersweet chocolate and had very little extra chocolate go to waste. I like to slice the strawberries to about a quarter of an inch, dip them, then use (once hardened) as a topping for ice cream, cheesecake, and strawberry short-cake. A word to the wise - chocolate will burn *very* quickly, so I would recommend using a double-boiler rather than a microwave for increased control over the chocolate's melting rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This recipe was delicious it was simple and very easy. I bought these two a luncheon and my mother thought that I did so much and that this was so complicated however nothing could have been simplier. I use these to decorate the tops of cakes or pies .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States