Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
quick and easy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Chocolate Tuxedos If you are looking for ooo’s and aaaaaa’s this is a fabulous crowd pleaser. Dip each strawberry into tempered white chocolate (either completely or just the side you will be presenting face up). Allow these to dry. Next, dip both sides (on the left and right of the white chocolate) in your choice of tempered dark, bittersweet, or milk chocolate to create a “V” of white chocolate in the center. Using either a piping bag with a tiny tip or parchment piping bag, pipe a tiny bowtie at the top of the white chocolate and two or three buttons with the chocolate of your choice. Note: Tempering can be very intimidating, but you will be well rewarded for taking the extra time if you plan on eating these at room temperature (you get the full flavor of the strawberry this way). Otherwise, just melt the chocolate and keep the strawberries refrigerated until serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Can't go wrong with chocolate and strawberries! Used Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chips & smothered every red speck of strawberry... Rinsed before without drying well... okay for first few, but be sure to have dry to avoid getting chocolate "chalky" and not sticking well to strawberries!! And I'm sure the chocolate will drip less if strawberries are chilled before dipping! Set up pretty quickly in fridge! Not too sweet! Father's Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kreativess
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Everyone is so impressed with these! I cant believe how simple it is. I buy the huge bag of Chocolate Chips at Costco for about $7 and the Strawberries are usually on sale at Safeway. My microwave even has a 'Melt Chocolate' setting which runs for 2.5 minutes and stops half way for you to stir. I find the toothpicks to be too short and thin for the big Strawberries, use the candy sticks! Make sure to dry the Strawberries with a paper towel or the Chocolate wont stick when you dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
A nice quick dessert on a summer's evening. I prefer semi-sweet chips and used 1 T. of shortening as suggested by another reviewer. Definitely use a toothpick to insert at the top of each one so you don't burn your fingers. I find the double boiler method on the stove is easier because it keeps the chocolate at a consisent temp. and smooth so you don't have to stop and reheat several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Try inserting a toothpick into stem end to make dipping easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
The first time I made chocolate strawberries without the shortening, the chocolate broke off as I was eating them. With the shortening it made the chocolate a little more maleable and it didn't break off as easily. I definitely recommend using the semi-sweet chocolate chips, and I used the microwave technique rather than the double boiler (as I hate my electric stove). Heat at 50% for 20s, and stir after every 20s. I will definitely use this recipe again, and again! Everyone has loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I dipped my strawberries halfways in semi sweet baker's chocolate and let them harden on wax paper in the fridge (only took about 15 mins) - they are absolutely delecious and very pretty to look at (half is chocolate and the other half is the red of the strawberry)!!!! I am taking them to a dinner party tonight and am very very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I tried these for Valentines day and they came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Made these for Valentines day and they were a big hit. I dipped some with white chocolate to look like tuxedos. Very easy. One lb of strawberries took one 12 oz bag of semisweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States