Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Very good, make sure to dry them off before dipping them! I haven't had a chance to directly compare with a recipe using shortening, but I don't think that it would be necessary to add it...just extra fat that you don't really need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
THANKS! I have trouble believing that something that looks this good is so easy to make. I felt like Martha Stewart when I brought these to a friend's party. Everyone loved them. I'll definitely be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
A simple yet elegant dessert and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I was prepared for a big mess, but this was ridiculously easy. I mixed one bag of semi-sweet chips with one bag of dark chocolate chips and it was enough for 3 large packs of strawberries. You MUST use dry strawberries. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Delicious and easy to make! I use dark chocolate chips and cool on parchment paper. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
quick and easy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Chocolate Tuxedos If you are looking for ooo’s and aaaaaa’s this is a fabulous crowd pleaser. Dip each strawberry into tempered white chocolate (either completely or just the side you will be presenting face up). Allow these to dry. Next, dip both sides (on the left and right of the white chocolate) in your choice of tempered dark, bittersweet, or milk chocolate to create a “V” of white chocolate in the center. Using either a piping bag with a tiny tip or parchment piping bag, pipe a tiny bowtie at the top of the white chocolate and two or three buttons with the chocolate of your choice. Note: Tempering can be very intimidating, but you will be well rewarded for taking the extra time if you plan on eating these at room temperature (you get the full flavor of the strawberry this way). Otherwise, just melt the chocolate and keep the strawberries refrigerated until serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Can't go wrong with chocolate and strawberries! Used Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chips & smothered every red speck of strawberry... Rinsed before without drying well... okay for first few, but be sure to have dry to avoid getting chocolate "chalky" and not sticking well to strawberries!! And I'm sure the chocolate will drip less if strawberries are chilled before dipping! Set up pretty quickly in fridge! Not too sweet! Father's Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kreativess
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Everyone is so impressed with these! I cant believe how simple it is. I buy the huge bag of Chocolate Chips at Costco for about $7 and the Strawberries are usually on sale at Safeway. My microwave even has a 'Melt Chocolate' setting which runs for 2.5 minutes and stops half way for you to stir. I find the toothpicks to be too short and thin for the big Strawberries, use the candy sticks! Make sure to dry the Strawberries with a paper towel or the Chocolate wont stick when you dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
A nice quick dessert on a summer's evening. I prefer semi-sweet chips and used 1 T. of shortening as suggested by another reviewer. Definitely use a toothpick to insert at the top of each one so you don't burn your fingers. I find the double boiler method on the stove is easier because it keeps the chocolate at a consisent temp. and smooth so you don't have to stop and reheat several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States