Chocolate Spoons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by countygirl28
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made these for gift baskets to go with hot chocolate mix. They were super simple to make! Turned out very pretty and make a great addition to my baskets! Now I have to make more for my kids!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am writing this review with the most delicious cup of chocolate caramel coffee at my side. I crushed Werther's Originals and sprinkled them on the chocolate covered spoons I had made. OUTSTANDING! I thought it would be easy to cover the spoons but found that first I had to covered the back with chocolate, let that harden; then, fill the spoon with chocolate and let that harden. For some reason I thought I would be able to "dip and go". Once I filled the front with chocolate, I sprinkled on the Werther's Originals. (I crushed them till they were almost powder like so they melt nice in the coffee). To let them "dry", I happened to have a box sitting on the table so I slid the handle of the spoon under the flap of the box. This way the chocolate didn't get smashed. They looked very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These turned out very nicely. They look great! I did change things, but this is a great idea. I used white and chocolate almond bark instead of the chips and skipped the refrigeration step. It doesn't seem necessary, and air drying will take care of any sugar blooms that people complain of. I waited for the first layer to harden, then drizzled the white chocolate over top. I used plastic spoons, but in retrospect, I should have gone to the dollar store for some cheap-o silverware. That would have looked nicer; I will be sure to do that next time I make these. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These are outstandin if you sprinkle candy canes on it, yum yum yum! Makes a wonderful holiday present!Good for stirring coffee! Hope you find this useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
i always have bad luck microwaving things, so i opted for the double-boiling with this recipe. i added a tablespoon of shortening for every cup of morsels i melted, like someone suggested, and the finish look was glossy. however, after the fourth day, the chocolate "spots" started showing up. so i suggest not making this days in advance like i did. overall, i had a great time, but took almost forever (about 3.5 hours) to finish only 15 spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These are so easy. I made them along with the cranberry hootycreek jar recipie and the cappucino mix. I crushed some mint candy canes and sprinkled the on top before the chocolate set. Very pretty and a nice gift! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This is a great recipe to get creative with. For Christmas, I colored white chocolate with food coloring and added a couple of drops of peppermint flavoring. Dipped some in the colored mint, then drizzled with melted chocolate and sprinkled with candy sprinkles. With some, I dipped in chocolate, stuck miniature marshamallows on while still wet, then drizzed the marshmallows with the colored chocolate. Wrapped in little cello bags and tied with curling ribbon, they are an impressive addition to gift baskets with a mug, some coffee, and homemade treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
My grandson & I made these yesterday, we used ghirardelli double chocolate dipping chocolate to coat the spoons in & drizzled ghirardelli white chocolate on after the chocolate set up. I melted my chocolate (I too added a bit of shortening...about a tbp) in a double boiler because I have had chocolate seize up in the microwave & there's no need to hurry using a double boiler. We sprinkled some w/ colored sprinkles for the grands to use as lollipops. These spoons added a nice touch to our coffee this morning....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I held a holiday food craft party for a group of friends and these easy-to-make spoons were the hit of the party! So easy, and so rewarding - I highly reccommend. One tip: we lined the spoons on a baking pan layered with wax paper and after the first coat of chocolate, we put the pan in the freezer for 10 mintues. This allowed the chocolate to become firm before adding another layer and gave our spoons a really nice look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Instead of drizzling milk chocolate on the spoons, I mixed semi-sweet and milk chocolate together while melting. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States