Chocolate Spoons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Thought this was a great idea, but when I made them, I put them in the fridge for 30 seconds, and I ended up with lots and lots of little tiny bubbles in them. They did not look good for gifts. I was very disappointed. But on a more possitive note, the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
i used baking chocolate, because i feel that chocolate-chips don't melt well. i am now in middle of making them but i find that the back of the spoon looks a bit messed up. maybe i'll try what someone said here and do the back first... but they look nice in their cellophane wrapper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These were so quick and easy! I made them for Valentine's Day and used white chocolate for the drizzle and made a heart shape on the spoon using a plastic baggie and #2 tip. I used clear plastic spoons. I did not refrigerate and they came out beautifully and hardened pretty quickly. I also added a little shortening to the chocolate when melting and only microwaved 30 seconds stirred and then 1 minute in the microwave. The chocolate wasn't completely melted but soft and I just stirred until smooth. I think 3 mins would burn the chocolate unless you have a very low wattage microwave. Excellent recipe and I loved the other reviews decorating tips for different holidays or occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this once for fun with some leftover chocolate. Most microwaves at 2-3 minutes will burn chocolate. 1 minute in the microwave and stirring after 30 seconds, should be sufficient. To make the drizzling chocolate easier, once melted add some vegetable oil 1 tsp. at a time to thin it out. A bag is not needed then, because it will drizzle great with a fork or spoon held above and moved back and forth around the chocolate spoons. Try some white chocolate to for a nice contrasting color! With that being said I always wondered what people did with these? It is kind of hard eating hardened chocolate off of a spoon. I am guessing for hot drinks? They have an elegant appeal to them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
not the greatest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeni
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
four words; tough but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These are great to make for hostess gifts or to include in a gift basket for any occasion. I actually usually use a candy-making chocolate for these because it'll stay more glossy and you don't have to worry about it getting spotty or 'weird' looking, as I sometimes have that problem just using chocolate chips, but that's just my preference. Also, that way I can choose the quality of chocolate that I want to use. Same concept though, and a great idea! Also, like to either drizzle them w/ white chocolate or decorate them with sprinkles or small molded sugar decorations, just for a little more of a gourmet look. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
What a fun and easy recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Easy and a great idea. I gave these as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
this is a cute idea for parties or brunches or even for when you have company! i added a dash of heavy cream to the milk chocolate it makes it smoother and lighter in color make it contrast more with the semi sweet chocolate! its delicious in coffee and my kids used it for icecream! i use this recipe all the time its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States