Chocolate Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2001
I prepared this as a test for Thanksgiving and was asked to bake several more times as well as asked to give out the recipe to my mom-in-law, who loves to bake. It was a big hit to large crowd of hungry (and picky) eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is a great recipe, it produces a very moist and flavorful cake. I've made it twice. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and got good reviews. The second time I doubled the recipe, used a 50/50 ratio of cake flour/all purpose flour, added 1 cup chocolate chips, baked 2-8" layers, and frosted with vanilla buttercream icing. This produced even better results. Everybody that tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
one of the best spice cakes we have ever tried. the chocolate was a great addition, i shared with all the neighbours so i would not eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was a very moist spice cake, but I think its name is misleading -- it's not chocolaty at all. You could probably leave the shaved chocolate out of it altogether and it might not even make a difference! I used buttercream frosting, but didn't care for that -- I think I'd use choc. frosting next time just so the cake lived up to its name a bit more. I'm not saying it wasn't good -- my husband really liked it! But it waas a spice cake, not in any way a chocolate cake. So, just be warned. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
the cake is perfectly moist, but my family and i found that chocolate doesn't really go with the spice in the cake. the spices overpower the chocolate. but i love the moisture, so i'm gonna replace the spices and put more chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I replaced the butter with applesauce, which usually works well for cakes & breads, except this was almost too moist and springy, and took twice the baking time. I don't usually see that result with the applesauce, so I don't know if it was the replacement or the recipe is just like that. Although I like moist and it was still pretty good. I agree that it isn't real chocolately, but I LIKED that as I'm not a chocolate freak -- it was more like a spice cake with a hint of chocolate, and I do think they went well together. (But if you're looking for something really chocolately, this isn't it.) And no frosting -- I don't think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Excellent spice cake! I do agree with other reviewers that it isn't really chocolaty, but, still I thoght it was probably one of the best spice cakes I've ever tasted! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Someone requested a chocolate spice cake and this recipe was great. I added 2 tsp of choc cocoa and added a pinch of each nutmeg, cloves, and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmsparkle
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Mmmm - double the chocolate, triple the spices, and this cake is Awesome! Especially good warm from the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
this cake shouldn't be called chocolate or spice cake. it was moist but anything with eggs and butter usually is. i dressed it up with a cream cheese (hint of orange) frosting and was good but i wouldnt make it again. i'd make a real chocolate cake (oe spice) for that fact. i also added 3 tb. of cocoa powder but it still wasn't chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeanqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States