Chocolate Sour Cream Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is my new, "go-to" fudge! It is a hit in every gift basket I make. The very first time I made it, I overcooked it and couldn't have broke it apart with a hammer! However, a good thermometer, ensuring low humidity, and the patience to SLOWLY get the syrup up to soft-ball stage temp. have made every batch I have made since then turn out perfect. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moniforbes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
These came out tasting delicious, and I was really worried it wouldn't turn out because of mixed reviews and the fact that I don't have a candy thermometer. I was low on sugar so I replaced one cup with brown sugar and the result is a rich, smooth, caramel flavour. My first time making fudge and it came out beautifully, I recommend making a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I wanted to try a recipe with sour cream to see how it would cook and come out. I used white chocolate chips and a rootbeer flavoring. I added more butter and left out the nuts. The fudge was DELICIOUS! I have used cream and evaporated milk before but this gives a tang and a wonderful texture. Try it ... you'll be amazed. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
LOVE IT!!! It is maybe not as easy as certain other fudges but it is better! If you want the best your gonna have to work for it! Be patient and make sure and have a candy thermometer. The flavor is unbeatable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Yummy! I love making fudge and this came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I was afraid that this wouldn't turn out due to it's unconventional cooking method. It turned out beautifully. The next batch I'm going to add coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I could swear that I had rated this one yesterday. It is some of the creamiest fudge I have ever made. Very consistent and melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
OH. MY. GOSH. This turned out soooooo creamy and wonderful~ almost caramel-ish. I didn't have unsweetened chocolate squares so I used about 8 ounces of Hershey's milk chocolate chips. (I didn't actually measure.) Along with the nuts at the end I added a 1/2 cup of raisins as well. SOOOOOOOO good! I cooked this on top of a double boiler but I couldn't get it to reach 240, so I put the double boiler right over the burner and in no time the thermometer was up to the right temperature. I WILL make this again. I'm already thinking about all the variations I can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Did not hold together, very crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This fudge has the best flavor EVER! After reading others' reviews and seeing the complaint of a tough fudgy brick, I decided to cook it in a double boiler, rather than the saucepot. I find that when cooking sugar, it is easier to do so in a double boiler, as it doesn't overcook and get tough. It turned out gorgeous, perfect, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States