Chocolate Sour Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
The weirdest thing happened when I tried to make these. I wanted more cookies than it called for so I doubled the recipe. When I was done mixing all of the ingredients the "dough" was more like a cake or brownie batter. There is no way I could have made cookies out of the "dough", so I put it into a 13 X 9 in. pan and baked it like a cake. My husband said they tasted like brownies and they were delicious! I don't know why this happened, I've been baking for years and have doubled recipes countless times before. Oh well, they didn't go to waste and we had a yummy treat anyway! Maybe I will try them again without doubling the recipe and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Consistency of batter was a bit unusual but the cookies turned out well. They were just a little bland and perhaps could benefit from 1/4 tsp. or so of salt added to the batter. My kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
The dough is delicious by itself, but this recipe doesn't "work." The cookies were way too soft and fell apart. Plus the color of them doesn't look like they are chocolate. Thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I too was surprised at the frosting-like consistency of the dough, but the cookies turned out quite well. Be sure to follow the instructions on allowing them to cool before removing from the pan....it helps the cookies "set" and not fall apart. Great mild chocolatey taste in a quick-fix recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These cookies are a holiday tradition at my house. Make sure to blend the melted chocolate thoroughly into the butter/sugar/egg mixture before you add the sour cream. Adding sour cream before the chocolate has cooled a bit will result in chocolate-flecked batter rather than a uniform color. These are a soft, cake-like cookie that should be stored in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I am not a huge chocolate fan (odd choice of cookies, but there you are), and these are right up my alley. Not over-the-top in-yer-face death-by-chocolate, but a very delicate, mild flavor, cut nicely by the nuts. The first bite actually tastes a bit bland, but maybe a teeny bit of salt or vanilla could fix that. After that, they're very good, but subtle. Also, I like that they stay pillowy soft for days. Overall, I really like them, but know your audience: a die-hard choco-holic would need to add a generous amount of chocolate chips or something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I agree that these were very cake/brownie like. The batter was a pain in the butt to work with, but hubby loves the cookies so its all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I added 1/4 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. vanilla because they had obviously been left out. If I made them again, I would also add an additional 1/2 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
i made 2 recipes and ended up with about 200 mini cookies for a pot-luck session. After reading other reviews about the difficult batter, i dumped the batter into a piping bag and piped teaspoon sized cookies onto the baking sheet... this method works well and i finished the whole lot pretty fast. Gave it four stars cos i personally prefer crispier cookies, which can be achieved with increased baking time (i forgot about the last batch in the oven, it was perfect by the time i remember).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
These cookies are great! The sour cream gives them a velvety softness, and the cookies are a nice compliment to a cup of coffee or a cold glass of milk. I added about a tablespoon of cocoa baking powder and approximately 1/2 cup white chocolate chips. Yum! I took these warm from the oven to a meeting, and they were gone in no time. Next time I think I'll try adding some instant coffee granules or flaked coconut for a different twist. Thanks for the recipe; it's really easy and quick to make, and would be a good way to introduce children to the fun of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States