Chocolate Sour Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I'm so excited that I found this recipe. My grandmother made something like this at christmas time except they were rolled and cut into the shape of teddy bears. they were my absolute favorite when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
The texture of these cookies is very cake like and chewy, which I like. However, the taste is lacking. They're not especially chocolatey. I rarely use salt in cookies, but these might benefit from a little bit. They need something. I'm not sure what, but something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barlow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These cookies turned out delicious, with a the few additional ingredients that I added. I took the advice of another reviewer and added a pinch of salt and a half teaspoon of vanilla or so. Also, if you cook them a little longer, like 12 to 15 minutes and also let the dough sit for 10 minutes after being in the fridge for 15, they aren't so cake textured. A good substitution for the walnuts is almonds, and white chocolate chips. I loved these cookies with the proper adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These cookies are good, but the problem with them is that their texture is not anything close to a cookie! They are very sticky and "cakey". The batter does have a nice taste to it, but I think next time I might just put the batter in an 8 x 8 square pan and make brownies out of them instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
These cookies are great! The sour cream gives them a velvety softness, and the cookies are a nice compliment to a cup of coffee or a cold glass of milk. I added about a tablespoon of cocoa baking powder and approximately 1/2 cup white chocolate chips. Yum! I took these warm from the oven to a meeting, and they were gone in no time. Next time I think I'll try adding some instant coffee granules or flaked coconut for a different twist. Thanks for the recipe; it's really easy and quick to make, and would be a good way to introduce children to the fun of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
i made 2 recipes and ended up with about 200 mini cookies for a pot-luck session. After reading other reviews about the difficult batter, i dumped the batter into a piping bag and piped teaspoon sized cookies onto the baking sheet... this method works well and i finished the whole lot pretty fast. Gave it four stars cos i personally prefer crispier cookies, which can be achieved with increased baking time (i forgot about the last batch in the oven, it was perfect by the time i remember).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I added 1/4 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. vanilla because they had obviously been left out. If I made them again, I would also add an additional 1/2 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I agree that these were very cake/brownie like. The batter was a pain in the butt to work with, but hubby loves the cookies so its all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I am not a huge chocolate fan (odd choice of cookies, but there you are), and these are right up my alley. Not over-the-top in-yer-face death-by-chocolate, but a very delicate, mild flavor, cut nicely by the nuts. The first bite actually tastes a bit bland, but maybe a teeny bit of salt or vanilla could fix that. After that, they're very good, but subtle. Also, I like that they stay pillowy soft for days. Overall, I really like them, but know your audience: a die-hard choco-holic would need to add a generous amount of chocolate chips or something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These cookies are a holiday tradition at my house. Make sure to blend the melted chocolate thoroughly into the butter/sugar/egg mixture before you add the sour cream. Adding sour cream before the chocolate has cooled a bit will result in chocolate-flecked batter rather than a uniform color. These are a soft, cake-like cookie that should be stored in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States