Chocolate Snowdrops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Be sure that your cake mix does not have any lumps. Sifting the dry cake mix prior to adding other ingredients would solve this problem. Otherwise, it is very difficult to get a smooth mixture. Great taste and so easy. Don't worry about the stickiness of the dough. Once your hands have confectioners sugar on them, the dough will not stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Very good recipe. The review right before mine suggested white cake with crushed peppermint. DO NOT TRY THIS! I did. The candy melts and then get hard again as it cools. It makes a huge mess. I did try the chocolate & am going to try carrot cake with walnuts today. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This recipe is quick and easy, but even more important, it makes an exceptionally good cookie. I like them even better after they have been sitting overnight. I made two batches (1 lemon with almonds, 1 chocolate with milk chocolate chips and walnuts) and it only took 1 1/2 hours from start to finish (including clean-up) Even after sitting for a week, the last cookie was as good as the first. This Christmas for the neighborhood cookie exchange I plan on making a selection of variations - in addition to the two listed above, I will also do orange with pecans, white with crushed peppermints, and spice with raisins. I plan on having fun with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
These cookies were a total hit--I did improvise a tiny bit, though: I bought devil's food cake without the pudding and threw in a box of chocolate pudding and I added semi-sweet chocolate chips to the mix. The preparation was a mess, comments on the stickiness of the batter were definitely true, but it was totally worth it and I will certainly make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Great recipe, but please don't underestimate the stickiness of the dough. I am a big guy, and I had to work at mixing it well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
The dough is goopy but when dropped into confectionary sugar and rolled over isn't sticky any more. My 7 and 2 year old loved making them and even more eating them! Definitly a new family favorite. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
These were quick and easy, but kind of bland. Cake mix doesn't make for a very flavorful cookie in general. I added some peppermint extract and that made them pop! Dough is very very sticky, I used a mini ice cream scoop and that helped. Do not omit the powdered sugar step, or you'll never be able to handle the dough balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
These are awesome! I had to watch them very carefully though because my oven cooks really hot. A nice chewy cookie, that look so pretty. I can't wait to try them with different cake flavours, maybe a cherry. I get them all to myself because my husband is not a huge fan of cookies. Oh well. I am trying to eat them slow. Next time I will use the light whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
These are delicious, and very low fat. They satisfy a chocolate craving, without making you feel guilty!! They're great!!! The dough is gooey, and a little hard to work with, but otherwise these are really quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Pretty easy to make. You must refridgrate dough or else you have a huge mess on your hands, Also use Pam or some kind of spray to prevent sticking to hands. I loved the fact that I had all the ingredients on hand too. My 2 year old son helped me make these. He thought he was an awesome baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States