Chocolate Snaps Sugar Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Just made these cookies again.. I know, I'm a chocoholic....You too?? I sifted the cocoa into the mixture, dry instead of using the extra 3 TBS of butter.. a good thing! Much better cookie than the last too....Abit extra height and more flavor...MAGIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMOMMASGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I can't really rate this recipe because I didn't follow it exactly! Like other posters, I added the cocoa to the dry ingredients and skipped the melted margarine alltogether. Also, I rolled them in powdered sugar instead of granulated and...I LOVE these cookies! They're firm, yet so soft in the middle, and the powdered sugar is kind of absorbed into the tops of the cookies, creating a subtle marbling effect that I really like. I can't rate the recipe as it is, but with these modifications, it's my favorite chocolate cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I am the baker who originally submitted this recipe. I like the recipe just the way it is as I submitted it because it makes it a thinner, more crisp cookie like a ginger snap (which is my all time favorite!). Of course alter the recipe the way you prefer for taste, texture or dietary reasons but please don't knock my recipe. Everyone has their own tastes and what they like. I am glad to see the recipe is well rated though...enjoy as I have! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
The recipe as written isn't bad. We finished off 2 batches as I continued to fiddle with the recipe. I finally changed the recipe by omitting the cocoa powder/melted butter step completely. Instead, I sifted the cocoa in with the dry ingredients and left out the extra 3 tablespoons of margarine. The dough was much, much less sticky and gooey and much easier to roll. Instead of regular sugar, I rolled ours in powdered sugar and we like the taste and texture better. For the recipe as submitted, I give it 4 stars. With the minor changes, it's a 5 and definitely one I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Apologies to the cook for skipping the melted butter/cocoa step, but in the interest of time I sifted the cocoa with the dry ingredients like other reviewers. This is a great, standard chocolate cookie. I used dark brown sugar and a touch of instant coffee to enhance the chocolate flavor and it really suited my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suavehouse113

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
these are REALLY good. The only thing I did different is I did not bother chilling or roll in sugar. I immedately dropped by large spoon (I always make big cookies) on a cookie sheet and baked. Flavor and texture was PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I agree with reviewer "martinmom" completely with the revisions made. I made the recipe as is, but I would make it next time with those changes. First of all, when you melt 3 tbsp. margarine and mix in 1/2 cup baking cocoa powder, it turns into chocolate "glop". I let it cool, and tried to incorporate it into the other ingredients by stirring, but I finally used the mixer. I will just sift the cocoa in with the dry ingredients next time. Also, the dough was VERY sticky, even though I left it in the fridge overnight. I had to frequently rinse my hands as they became sticky while rolling the cookies. Also, make sure to put the dough in the fridge inbetween batches or it will "melt". The granulated sugar on the outside was...well...grainy... I tried powdered sugar for the next batch and it was much better. Finally, these are good cookies, inbetween a chocolate cookie and a sugar cookie. Not overly chocolatey tasting, but not overly sugar cookie tasting either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Excellent! I followed other reviewers and omitted the margarine/cocoa step and added the cocoa directly to the dry ingredients. I chilled the dough 2 hours and had no trouble rolling these into balls. Using my small cookie scoop I got 47 cookies, and I rolled some in powdered sugar and some in granulated. Unlike some of the other reviewers - we prefer the look and taste of those rolled in granulated sugar. Mine were perfect at 8 minutes, slightly crisp on the outside and chewy (almost brownie-like) inside. A new favorite for us! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by eatslotsacookies
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe is perfect.. there is no need to change it! The only thing you have to worry about is self-control after they are done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatslotsacookies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These are SO GOOD! My husband, who isn't a big sweets fan, ate 3 for dessert last night. He even took 1 with him to work today, saying: "I love your cookies!" They turned out crispy on the edges and very chewy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States