Chocolate Snaps Sugar Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
My family really enjoyed these cookies. The kids wanted some cookies that thay could help make and these worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
After searching high and low for a "good" chocolate sugar cookie recipe, I finally found this one. By far, the best taste and the best baking performance. These cookies can be made to be big or small, flat or puffy. Just like a regular sugar cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Wonderful! Just like Sugar Cookies, except - of course - chocolate! A bit less sweet as not much extra sugar is added and cocoa is bitter. This is VERY forgiving - I added the flour mixture before adding the cocoa butter or the vanilla, and went AH! Stirred in the cocoa and it was fine after a bit. Then I couldn't let it sit 2 hours because it was 10 at night, so I just left it in the cold storage till morning before baking - and they were great! A nice morning treat. So, 4 stars for the cookies, 5 stars for simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
the boy sure said "mmm!" a lot. these cookies chill up firm and dandy in one hour (even here in arizona!). the recipe made 59 cookies, by my count (and i think i have a quite generous idea of what "1 inch" is!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
The recipe as written isn't bad. We finished off 2 batches as I continued to fiddle with the recipe. I finally changed the recipe by omitting the cocoa powder/melted butter step completely. Instead, I sifted the cocoa in with the dry ingredients and left out the extra 3 tablespoons of margarine. The dough was much, much less sticky and gooey and much easier to roll. Instead of regular sugar, I rolled ours in powdered sugar and we like the taste and texture better. For the recipe as submitted, I give it 4 stars. With the minor changes, it's a 5 and definitely one I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This recipe is excellent. I have a crazy schedule so my kids make the dough in the evening if I'm working so I can bake them the next day. Excellent for gift giving too. I'm also going to try to freeze the raw dough for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I agree with reviewer "martinmom" completely with the revisions made. I made the recipe as is, but I would make it next time with those changes. First of all, when you melt 3 tbsp. margarine and mix in 1/2 cup baking cocoa powder, it turns into chocolate "glop". I let it cool, and tried to incorporate it into the other ingredients by stirring, but I finally used the mixer. I will just sift the cocoa in with the dry ingredients next time. Also, the dough was VERY sticky, even though I left it in the fridge overnight. I had to frequently rinse my hands as they became sticky while rolling the cookies. Also, make sure to put the dough in the fridge inbetween batches or it will "melt". The granulated sugar on the outside was...well...grainy... I tried powdered sugar for the next batch and it was much better. Finally, these are good cookies, inbetween a chocolate cookie and a sugar cookie. Not overly chocolatey tasting, but not overly sugar cookie tasting either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
A definite Hit! Everyone who loves chocolate will love this cookies! and Definitley listen to the advice of others and don't do the margarine and cocoa mix step, just add the cocoa in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Absolutely the best cookie I've ever eaten, and an all-time favorite with my family! Has the added benefit of being easy to make. I followed the advice of previous posters and sifted the cocoa powder with the other dry ingrediants, thus eliminating the messy mix-with-margarine step. Also, I find that using butter gives a fudgier texture and--to me at least--better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
WOW, these cookies are YUMMY! I added Nestle chocolate and peanut butter morsals to it, and it made them even better. They are now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States