Chocolate Silk Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This pie wasn't very good. I see the idea.. but the chocolate overwhelms the pecan mixture. The aftertaste is very strange and not pleasing. I think the two layers would be great on their own, but not mixed together. The whipped cream is awesome, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very rich and chocolaty! The small amount of pecans was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These are just a mess to make and maybe it was because I did something wrong but I followed the recipe to a T. The chocolate filling did not set and I finally just had to freeze them and eat them like fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReinyLane
Home Town: Jamestown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was not too hard to make. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out so yummy!! First pie I have ever made and everyone at Thanksgiving loved it. It is very very rich :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCostello

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Would recommend replacing the chocolate with just chocolate pudding pie filling. I used cheap chocolate chips and it was way too dense, and bitter tasting. I ended up scraping all the chocolate off and eating the pecan part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Oh wow, this is none other than awesome, oh yes it is. Followed the directions exactly and was oh so wonderufl. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Photo by Mrs N
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
If you love chocolate this will become your favorite, just make sure you use good quality chocolate chips like Guitard. Just follow the directions it's a well written recipe, do not deviate or you might have some trouble. Your chocolate loving friends will love you forever if you serve them this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie turned out right and was very pretty. However, the chocolate layer was way too rich. I was concerned about an entire bag of chocolate chips basically melted over the top of the pie before I started and my instincts were right - it turns out like a one-inch chocolae bar on the top of the pie. If the chocolae lyer was less dense & more of a mousse, meringue or cream the pie would be much beter. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This dish overall was good! I was just a little disappointed with the crust. It was way to thin! Almost paper thin. I suggest maybe doubling the crust. As I was serving it the crust would break apart in pieces. Also in the directions it says to refrigerate the chocolate filling for about an hour and a half. I just left it in the fridge for about an hour and the chocolate had already set. I would maybe leave it in the fridge for no more then 40 minutes. I then had to melt the chocolate and it gave the filling an overly thick texture. Also don't bother making the topping! It is literally cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States