Chocolate Silk Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We always have chocolate pie during the holidays, and this one's become our family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This just was not a good pie. The chocolate was too dense, and the pecan part of the pie was too lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I messed this up! #1 -you HAVE TO COVER THE CRUST while you cook the bottom half or IT WILL BURN! #2 -I added the choc chips w/the warm milk in a sause pan not a blender &it NEVER SET RIGHT! I should have followed this recipe Exactly but I don't think it is worth the 4 hours it takes to make it! but it still really sounds good &my Dad said he liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
OMGOSH!! This pie was AWESOME!!! My whole family loved it too!!! This is by far my favorite pie! I even tried one with mint chips which was very yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Schultz Leister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This dish overall was good! I was just a little disappointed with the crust. It was way to thin! Almost paper thin. I suggest maybe doubling the crust. As I was serving it the crust would break apart in pieces. Also in the directions it says to refrigerate the chocolate filling for about an hour and a half. I just left it in the fridge for about an hour and the chocolate had already set. I would maybe leave it in the fridge for no more then 40 minutes. I then had to melt the chocolate and it gave the filling an overly thick texture. Also don't bother making the topping! It is literally cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie turned out right and was very pretty. However, the chocolate layer was way too rich. I was concerned about an entire bag of chocolate chips basically melted over the top of the pie before I started and my instincts were right - it turns out like a one-inch chocolae bar on the top of the pie. If the chocolae lyer was less dense & more of a mousse, meringue or cream the pie would be much beter. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs N
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
If you love chocolate this will become your favorite, just make sure you use good quality chocolate chips like Guitard. Just follow the directions it's a well written recipe, do not deviate or you might have some trouble. Your chocolate loving friends will love you forever if you serve them this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Oh wow, this is none other than awesome, oh yes it is. Followed the directions exactly and was oh so wonderufl. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Would recommend replacing the chocolate with just chocolate pudding pie filling. I used cheap chocolate chips and it was way too dense, and bitter tasting. I ended up scraping all the chocolate off and eating the pecan part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States