Chocolate Shell Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Tastes like Magic Shell! Even better than the original! I heated the ingredients in the micro. for 60 seconds on high and stirred until blended. I dished up ice cream in bowls, poured on this sauce and stuck it in the freezer for 5 mins. to speed up the hardening process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I think I might try using 1/3c milk and 1/3 semi sweet next time. The consistency is more like a ganache than like the crackle shell. It does not get quite as hard, but overall this recipe tastes very good over ice cream and I could see it having many other applications to come in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
So easy and fast to make with stuff you already have in the pantry! I was looking for a quick chocolate sauce to go with our vanilla icecream for our dessert tonight and didnt want to run to the store. This was the only recipe on the site that I had the ingrediants for! It was a bit thick as others have said, but it all just depends on what you want to use it for. I did thin ours out just a bit with a tablespoon or so of milk. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIANNASR
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was the perfect "sauce" for what I needed. I made a bowling ball cake and iced it with the chocolate shell. Easy to work with and way tastier than fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Quick,easy and delicious! This sauce can also be used for strawberries! Just let it cool a little, dip the strawberries, and let chill in the fridge for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Been meaning to try this sauce for a while...let me say YUM! I had it over peanut ice cream and oh gosh it was good. It hardened up perfectly, exactly like the shell sauce from the grocery store! I'm gonna use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
OMG - LOVE IT! I always loved magic shell but it's full of hydrogenated fats. Obviously this is not a health food but I feel more comfortable with using plain, wholesome butter - and besides, it's to die for. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
So good! Perfect for my cake pops. I added a little corn syrup for shine ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Quick, Easy, and delicious! Save money, by not buying the shell sauce at the store! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LTLBITZ
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This turned out perfect, it hardened just like the magic shell. I poured this over a turtle cheesecake I made and it was beautiful. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States