Chocolate Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I love this easy cake..and will substitute sour milk (milk with lemon juice in it) for buttermilk and use milk instead of water and it still comes out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I doubled the recipe and baked longer in an 11x15 sheet cake pan. It came out very well - very moist and a good texture. I was skeptical because the batter is very liquidy, but there were no problems. Also added a bit of chocolate extract to the liquid ingredients for more chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Great, except like Jessie posted- not much batter for such a large pan unless making petite fours or a jelly roll style cake I guess. I had to make a cake to feed 50+ for church, so I tripled this recipe and it filled the large pan (forget the size, but it is the one in the recipe) and a 9x13 pan. I stacked the 9x13 on top of the larger and frosted with fluffy white icing. Cake is very moist and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This was really delicious...but it turned out to be rather flat (and I can't imagine how you could feed 24 people with it). I used a 10X15 pan and it was still not very big. I must have done something incorrectly...but it was so simple and easy I can't imagine what I could have done wrong. Has anyone else had this issue?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This is a lovely cake, fun and easy to make and moist and a succulent dessert. I have made it countless times with my friends, and will continue for every holiday, or just for fun. I love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Used this recipe to feed 500 people at a banquet and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This is the best one ever. I get so many compliments and requests. It is good when you can eat a cake without icing and still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I was looking for an old family recipe for a sheet cake and this one wasn't quite as sweet as the original cake recipe. But was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States