Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I bring to a boil for 1 minute. When you put the chocolate chips/butterscotch on you can just pour over warmed mixture and they melt and you can spread from there. My daughter can't have chocolate, these are great without the frosting too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I have been making this recipe for 30 years. My friends call it my "special bars". My son even requested these for his graduation party. We had 14 pans of them. I usually use an 11 x 13 pan and use a 12 oz box of Special K and 1 1/2 cups of each sugar, peanut butter and Karo syrup. I also double the choc chips. It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDYSUE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I messed up and let the corn syrup boil to long and they were hard! But overall, an easy recipe that I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
My great grandmother used to make these and no one can beat hers! These are a good second place though. Next time I will use a little less peanut butter and just use semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These are so heavenly - the butterscotch and chocolate chips melted on top are SO good. They turn out better for me if I melt in a double boiler or in a big heat-safe bowl over top a pot of boiling water on the stove. It heats more evenly and is really easy to spread. I would suggest letting this cool for at least an hour or two to let the topping set. Never met a person who didn't LOVE this - kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
awww....yes. this is what i was remembering from years ago. i did what some others did and doubled the chips on top. almost too much for me and i have a sweet tooth to end all!! i used to use special k but only had rice krispy's. still yummy tho! thanks to those who answered my request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Stayton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Okay, I wasn't sure whether to rate this a 4 or 5, but since everyone loves them, I'll go with 5 stars. I'll admit, I didn't think I'd like them, let alone anyone else, when I tasted the bits left over from making them (you know you do it too--licking the bowl!) I thought they'd be too rich. Then, I was distracted by my kids while melting the topping, so instead of one cup each, I use a WHOLE BAG of each, chocolate and butterscotch chips! After sitting in the fridge to firm up a bit, DH tried them first. Let's just say, they're a hit! I cut them into 1 inch squares (since they are rich), but the kids and I each had two, and DH, who cut his own first, had the equivalent of 6! The next time I try them, I might try just chocolate on top, or corn flakes instead of rice krispies. Oh, and the extra topping--worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We love this recipe. I only use chocolate chips in the topping (with 1 T. of oil to help with the melting) and it's great. Make sure to cut the bars while they are warm since they get hard to cut once they set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Good but I used 1/2 cup butterscotch chips and 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Mmmm, these are so good they are BAD, (can't stop eating them)! I have found in the past an equal mix of butterscotch and semi-sweet chips to be too sweet, so I used 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet, 1 cup butterscotch chips. Unfortunately, I am sure I will want to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States