Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made these for a bake sell, and people kept buying more and ranting and raving about them. I did what one reviewer suggested and used 1 1/2 c. of peanut butter, and doubled the chocolate, so a full bag of semi sweet and a full bag of butterscotch chips. Only thing is if your a new cook like me, I had no idea chocolate burns in the microwave, i stuck it in the first time for 5 minutes it wasn't melted put another 5 min on it and it burned, i'd do 5 min, then check it every minute, or just use a sauce pan. Also something I may try with this later on is instead of butterscotch chips, get a bag of andes mint pieces u can find in the baking section, and add a bag of those with the semi sweet choc chips, for a mint chocolate peanut butter treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
be very careful that you dont pack these down into the pan very much or else they will be like rocks. good taste, esp. if someone else makes them for you and you dont know every unhealthy ingredient in it :) thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
mmmmmmmmmmmmmm. My favorite lunchtime dessert by the award-winning operation that is UMass dining can now be re created at home! PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Lauren

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I added an extra 1/2 cup of P.B. to the cereal mix. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I just love scotcheroos! I didn't change up the recipe at all, and they were perfect! So addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My mother used to make these when I was growing up and I had forgotten about them until this recipe popped up one day. I made them for company and they were gone in no time. My mother's used to turn into bricks as they sat, but mine didn't do that. Maybe it's because they didn't last long enough to harden too much, but I thought this recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Very good. I made them with Special K (personal preference). A little to sweet and a little too much butterscotch for my taste. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I've been loving these things at potlucks for years and never new what was in them and that they were so easy to make. I make one change, though. I really, really have a sweet tooth, but I've found that if you cut out a lot of the sugar (I quartered it this time), you can't taste the difference at all. Between the corn syrup and the chocolate on top they were still plenty sweet and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was a "very sweet" treat, but I really liked it. My 3 year old daughter loved it even more! The only thing I altered was I used 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips and 1 1/2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips b/c I am not just a huge fan of butterscotch. This gave it just enough butterscotch flavor, but not too overpowering. The extra chocolate kick was great! I used rice krispie cereal. May try Special K next time. I also used extra crunchy PB. I'll use this simple recipe again for church functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityldp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
"Very sweet" was an understatement in describing this. It was way too sweet for my taste, and way too firm of a texture. I was expecting Rice krispie treats that tasted butterscotchy. Instead of a light treat I came out with a pan of rock hard sugar bombs. I guess they would have been ok served as a candy, not a real dessert, but that's just me. I took about three bites and didnt eat the rest. I'll stick to the normal rice krispie treats with chocolate drizzled on them. These just aren't what I expected at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States