Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
These are an old family favorite and super easy but DO NOT let the corn syrup come to a bubbling all-over boil. That's what makes them hard! Just let the sugar melt with tiny bubbles around the edge of the pan then remove from heat & stir in peanut butter. I always use super crunchy peanut butter and 2 C. semisweet chips and whole bag of butterscotch chips for the topping. Don't pack it too hard in the pan either or they will be a challenge to cut. Thanks for posting this "oldie and goodie" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brown Rabbitmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These made a great birthday treat instead of cupcakes or cakes for my daughter's birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I've been making scotcheros for years and I love them!!! Super easy and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
These tasted good but were hard as rocks. I followed the directions and don't know what went wrong. Next time I will try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My entire family LOVES these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Beaubien Povich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
These are really good! I have made it as written and have also used it as a "crust" for an ice cream cake. I sprayed a spring form pan with pam, spread a thin layer of the chocolate schotcheroo on the bottom, spread a layer of soft ice cream on top, placed the spring form pan in the frezzer for about 15 minutes until the layer set. I then sprinkled another layer of the chocolate schotcharoos over the ice cream and spread a second layer of a different ice cream on top. I used the remaining chocolate schotcheroo to decorate the top of the cake, placed it in the freezer for 24 hours. the cake was amazing and the chocolate schotcheroos were delicious and added a really nice crunch to the ice cream cake! yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made these for a bake sell, and people kept buying more and ranting and raving about them. I did what one reviewer suggested and used 1 1/2 c. of peanut butter, and doubled the chocolate, so a full bag of semi sweet and a full bag of butterscotch chips. Only thing is if your a new cook like me, I had no idea chocolate burns in the microwave, i stuck it in the first time for 5 minutes it wasn't melted put another 5 min on it and it burned, i'd do 5 min, then check it every minute, or just use a sauce pan. Also something I may try with this later on is instead of butterscotch chips, get a bag of andes mint pieces u can find in the baking section, and add a bag of those with the semi sweet choc chips, for a mint chocolate peanut butter treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
be very careful that you dont pack these down into the pan very much or else they will be like rocks. good taste, esp. if someone else makes them for you and you dont know every unhealthy ingredient in it :) thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
mmmmmmmmmmmmmm. My favorite lunchtime dessert by the award-winning operation that is UMass dining can now be re created at home! PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Lauren

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I added an extra 1/2 cup of P.B. to the cereal mix. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States