Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
These scotcheroos are fabulous. I made a couple of small changes to amounts: 8 cups of rice crispies cereal instead of 6, 3/4 cup butterscotch chips instead of 1/2, and 3/4 cup MILK chocolate chips instead of 1/2 cup semisweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
THIS is the recipe I was looking for! Thank you! Not too much peanut buttery taste, and just enough chocolate to match up with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Wonderful bars! I didn't change the ingredients; however, I did not bring the sugar/syrup to a boil. Bars had a great consistency; they were not hard at all. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Fantastic recipe! My only suggestion would be to let the butterscotch melt a little before mixing in the chocolate chips, as the butterscotch seems to have a slightly higher melting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
quick simple and always a favorite... the trick here is to remove from heat as soon as the corn syrup starts to boil... otherwise they will end up hard.. good recipe... as recommended by a friend who owns a catering company I will try using brown sugar instead of white sugar for better flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a decent start for this dessert but I think the following changes make the bars gooey-er (softer and chewier) and the "frosting" to bar ratio more proportionate: For the Bar: ~Use 2 c. of peanut butter ~Add additional corn syrup as needed because the extra peanut butter can dry out the bar For the "Frosting": ~Use 2 c. of chocolate chips ~Use 2 c. of butterscotch chips ~Use 1 c. of peanut butter (this will improve the peanut butter taste even more and help make microwave melting easier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are Bomps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe and ate way too much of my own dessert! I did follow the advice of others and doubled the chocolate. It was a huge hit and very tasty! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These have been my favorite dessert since I was young. To avoid the problem of overheating, I never let the corn syrup/sugar mixture get to a boil. Once it reaches the simmer stage, the concoction is warm enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I've made this for several years and lost my original recipe, though this one is close. So glad I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States