Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This recipe is super! I have been making this one for years. When you press the cereal mixture into pan, use a flat metal lasagna spatula sprayed lightly with cooking spray and press mixture down firmly. Another good tip is to spray cooking spray into measuring cup for adding corn syrup! It slides right out! Also, line measuring cup for peanut butter with plastic wrap and there is no mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years. It is extremely sweet! I only gave it 4 stars because my recipe differs just a bit. I use 1-1/2 cups peanut butter which makes it far less hard. For the topping, 2 cups chocolate chips and 2 cups butterscotch chips (doubling this recipe). Makes a nice thick topping! Make sure you use a double boiler for melting as the butterscotch chips just don't melt very well in the microwave. Very good but try my version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Exactly what I was looking for!! Be careful not to cook the syrup & sugar any longer than just reaching a rollign boil though -- they get HARD if yo ulet it boil too long. I had walked away to answer the phone and the first batch I made were like ROCKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I use 1 1/2 c of peanut butter, add 2 tsp of vanilla as I stir in the peanut butter, and use 10 c of Special K. On a tip from my grandma, I used 12 oz of chocolate chips and 12 oz of butterscotch chips. With those changes these are my favorite bars ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Delicious! I was paranoid about letting the corn syrup mixture boil too long, so I didn't even let it reach a rolling boil. As soon as it started to boil, I removed it from the stove and added the peanut butter. It's perfect. Not too chewy and definitely not too hard. I'm having a hard time saving some for my kids to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norway, Michigan, USA
Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
These bars are spectacular. The first time I made them, I pressed them in the pan too hard and it was torture to cut them! Make sure to lightly press so that they're easier to cut. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
These are an old family favorite and super easy but DO NOT let the corn syrup come to a bubbling all-over boil. That's what makes them hard! Just let the sugar melt with tiny bubbles around the edge of the pan then remove from heat & stir in peanut butter. I always use super crunchy peanut butter and 2 C. semisweet chips and whole bag of butterscotch chips for the topping. Don't pack it too hard in the pan either or they will be a challenge to cut. Thanks for posting this "oldie and goodie" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brown Rabbitmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This is my favorite desert bar recipe! I found that melting the chips in a double boiler results in a smoother topping than melting them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a decent start for this dessert but I think the following changes make the bars gooey-er (softer and chewier) and the "frosting" to bar ratio more proportionate: For the Bar: ~Use 2 c. of peanut butter ~Add additional corn syrup as needed because the extra peanut butter can dry out the bar For the "Frosting": ~Use 2 c. of chocolate chips ~Use 2 c. of butterscotch chips ~Use 1 c. of peanut butter (this will improve the peanut butter taste even more and help make microwave melting easier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
These were so good, so quick and so easy. I love no bakes! I used all rice krispie cereal. Instead of using all corn syrup, I did about 50/50 with honey. Also used about 50/50 Splenda with the white sugar. Then when I was stirring in the peanut butter I also stirred in about 2 Tbsp. of cocoa powder. I had only one bag of chocolate chips, they were actually the chocolate/caramel swirl type. I microwaved them and drizzled it back and forth on top of the bars. This recipe is not too different than the No-bake granola bars I make all the time, the only difference being there's no quick cook oatmeal in them. Definitely Yum Yum Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States