Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Yummy! You can't go wrong with peanut butter, butterscotch, & chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These were awesome! I actually combined two other reviews. I put the sugar and syrup in together, stirred, then turned the stove on. While it was heating up, I added the peanut butter. Once I saw it boil, I immediately took it off the heat and added the rice crispies. I then doubled the chocolate/butterscotch mixture. These were soft even after I took them out of the fridge! Excellent way to wow your guests or your fiance, as I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These were a big hit at my house...I too found them somewhat hard when stored in the fridge so after the chocolate was hardened I left them out on the counter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years. It is extremely sweet! I only gave it 4 stars because my recipe differs just a bit. I use 1-1/2 cups peanut butter which makes it far less hard. For the topping, 2 cups chocolate chips and 2 cups butterscotch chips (doubling this recipe). Makes a nice thick topping! Make sure you use a double boiler for melting as the butterscotch chips just don't melt very well in the microwave. Very good but try my version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
My mother-in-law has been making this one for my husband for years. Glad I found it... Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I used rice chex instead, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Yummy, but ...BEWARE! indulge sparingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyceia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe is easy and delicious! I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
ok- so now looking at the other reviews i can see i overboiled. i usually read those b4 i cook- must have been on a sugar trip. These were so hard they could have broken teeth- had to toss them all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I've been making these from my own recipe (which is pretty much identical) for over 20 years. A few of my own tips: add the peanut butter with the syrup and sugar BEFORE you turn on the heat and then just barely bring to a boil (this ensures you don't make rock candy), use pam for baking to grease the dish, use waxed paper to press the mixture into the pan, and, lastly, use a double boiler to melt the chocolate. These all guarantee a perfect result every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States