Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This recipe has been around since the early 1960's. My mother made them every single year when we were growing up, it is part of our Christmas tradition. I have been making them for 26 years. My 18 year old son has to have them. We love them! I also double the topping recipe ?? Delish!! Merry Christmas everybody ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Really yummy. Definitely use 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter and don't cook the syrup too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is the same recipe I always use, and it is the best! I get the same comments every time I make it, "I don't know what you do, but your scotcheroos are the best". The ingredients are perfect as they are. I think the key is take the sugar/corn syrup mixture off the heat as soon as it comes to a boil. If you let it boil too long, your bars will be a little hard. I also don't press the rice krispie mixture real hard into the pan; just even them out and press them a lightly. This is a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCee
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Made these for a friend from the MidWest for a taste of home...delicious! I only had peanut butter without sugar/salt added and I think it was as sweet as I could handle! Recipe also reduces well so you don't end up over-eating and forgetting to bring them to the pot luck :) I do wish I could find a substitute for the corn syrup as I try to stay away from it as much as I can...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Simple, chewy, and tasty. I recommend doubling the chocolate and butterscotch topping however. And best to eat when at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Amos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I forgot how good these are. I haven't had them since I was little and they are so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These cookies bring back memories of childhood Christmases! My mom made these as a special treat only at Christmas and I began that tradition last year with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I actually microwave sugar and karo syrup for 1 min in microwave then add peanut butter and microwave for 50 sec. Perfect everytime. Never hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very good, they were a hit at a gathering I had. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This recipe is so simple and so good! I used peanut butter chips since I was out of butterscotch chips but both are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States