Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Ive been making this recipe for years now, the only thing I do different is actually use a whole bag of chocolate chips and a whole bag of butterscotch chips....sounds like alot but with a 13x9 pan it works well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Fabulous recipe - my family has been making it for years. One suggestion - make the bars a "sandwich." Spread half of the cereal mixture in the pan, top with the melted chips - and spread the rest of the cereal mixture on top. Keeps the gooey chocolate on the cookie - and not on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Have made these for years from an old German village church cookbook. Always loved. Always a hit. Don't leave out the butterscotch chips -- they make all the difference. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Fabulous! I brought these to a party recently and everyone loved them! I would suggest only refrigerating them for an hour before cutting into squares, otherwise they get too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This has been a favorite of mine for years.It's quick, easy and no bake. It works with Rice Krispies or Special K. You can also use chunky peanutbutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This always a big hit at bake sales. I sometimes don't use the butterscotch chips. I use all different type of chips, just make sure you use a full two cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karon
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I love this recipe! It really is like a candy bar....take this for food day at work sometime or to a family gathering -- make sure to bring the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
My mom used to make these all the time. Only she used Special K cereal 9 times out of 10. Very good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
these are just like the ones i used to eat when i was a kiddo. nostalgic and super-quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A family favorite and personal specialty! I ate these all the time when I was pregnant! My hubby jokes my daughter is made of scotcheroos. :) After making these many (MANY) times, here are my tips: 1. Make sure you boil the syrup and sugar just the right amount. About 30-45 seconds at full boil. Sugar should just dissolve. Less, and they won't stick together well, more and they'll be too hard. 2. It's best to mix the chocolate and butterscotch chips on a double boiler or something, but in a hurry, just pour them both on top of the rice krispies, and stick them in the microwave or oven for a bit to melt, then spread them with a spatula. Don't let them burn! This is the way Grandma always makes it. 3. My Aunt uses Milk chocolate chips, and people like that. (I like the butterscotch, though.) Just butterscotch is great for people who don't want or like chocolate. 4. These are great in both a 9x13 pan, and a jellyroll pan. It makes them thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States