Chocolate Sauerkraut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Well, to be honest....I made this as a joke on my family. I know, but we have an evil streak when it comes to our humor! But let me tell you...it is wonderful! The joke was on me! I used self rising flour and omitted the soda and salt. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I just used 2% instead. Other than that, I didn't change a thing. Oh, I rinsed the kraut many many times, then I took kitchen sissors and cut it up very fine. My kids won't eat coconut because of the texture...I was trying to avoid that. It almost looked like a chocolate mousse when I poured it into the pan. I didn't know what to expect. But the house sure smelled good. It cooked for the full 45 minutes. Afterwards I trimmed the top so I would lay flat on my pan. I didn't tell one about the kraut and the kids went to town on it! You can see the kraut just a bit, but not too much. They loved it. Very moist and good, especially warm. We won't frost this one...and I'll be sure to make it again and again. This one is very much worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Do not be scared! Live a little and step outside the box; these are fantastic! I followed the recipe w/2 minor alterations: 1. I made as cupcakes (baked for right around 20 min a batch and the recipe made 30 cupcakes for me) and 2. I never have buttermilk so I used the milk (1% at our house) and vinegar substitution. I should probably make it known that I'm NOT a from scratch cake fan; I tend to prefer Duncan Hines box mixes, so I baked these more for the novelty of the sauerkraut w/low expectations...well, they certainly exceeded the low bar I had set! These are great! great flavor...I'm not sure what the sauerkraut does (some bites I felt I could get the barest hint of sauerkraut, but maybe it was all in my head), but these are def worth trying! I frosted w/butter cream (butter cream II from here, actually) but next time I think I'll try w/either a cinnamon-y or a caramel or a PB or a mint frosting (the possibilities are endless!) thanks to the suggestions of wonderful RE members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Hands down one of the best cakes I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly as stated and the result was spectacular! Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
The thought of putting sauerkraut into a chocolate cake was crazy, but the taste was amazing. This recipe makes a excellent cake and a must try. I topped it off with a coconut frosting and if my wife didn’t tell our guest that it had sauerkraut in it they would have never known.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I had to try this because I love sauerkraut and the thought of putting it in a cake just tickled me. I was saddled with the task of making a cake for a going-away party for a co-worker, and thought I would make this as a revenge of sorts. I very roughly chopped the sauerkraut because I was going to put coconut frosting on the cake anyway and figured that if anyone got some stringy bits they would just think it was coconut. Nobody suspected anything. I got nothing but rave reviews. Even when I got a piece of what I knew was sauerkraut and bit into it, all I could taste was chocolate. This cake is so delicious and chocolatey. I recommend it to anyone who wants to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made this cake yesterday mostly out of curiosity. I followed the recipe, except I used half dark and half lite brown sugar. I used a chocolate frosting and baked it in 2 9" round cake pans. It was simply delicious! Keep in mind when choosing a frosting, the cake itself is only mildly sweet. We loved the unique texture and flavor of this wonderful cake. I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRAMBUESA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
The idea of sauerkraut in cake is revolting...but you HONESTLY cannot taste it in here. It being in the cake has about the same affect as putting applesauce in. I nearly tossed my cookies at the thought of me seeing a strand of kraut in my cake, so I put it in the food processor before adding it and I liked that a lot better. I frosted this with a coconut/pecan icing and everyone liked it. I would have given this cake a 5 because it was really moist and had a nice soft texture but it just wasn't very chocolately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Didn't care for this one. My kids weren't fooled and immediately thought it tasted strange and wouldn't eat it. My hubby liked it, but he is from Wisconsin and LOVES sauerkraut. Maybe it would be less tangy with a lesser amount of sauerkraut?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Made for my husband for his birthday and he really enjoyed along with my boys. Nobody in my family particularly likes sauerkraut but curiosity got the better part of me and I wanted to see if anyone would notice. (They were very suprised when I told them) Will definetly make again. Thanks Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a very moist cake. The sauerkraut really does not impart a flavor, just the texture of "coconut." The cake itself is somewhat flat and chalky. If I were to use this idea in the future, I would add the sauerkraut to another cake base (e.g. box mix, cavity maker cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States