Chocolate Sauerkraut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Hands down one of the best cakes I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly as stated and the result was spectacular! Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
The thought of putting sauerkraut into a chocolate cake was crazy, but the taste was amazing. This recipe makes a excellent cake and a must try. I topped it off with a coconut frosting and if my wife didn’t tell our guest that it had sauerkraut in it they would have never known.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Made for my husband for his birthday and he really enjoyed along with my boys. Nobody in my family particularly likes sauerkraut but curiosity got the better part of me and I wanted to see if anyone would notice. (They were very suprised when I told them) Will definetly make again. Thanks Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Didn't care for this one. My kids weren't fooled and immediately thought it tasted strange and wouldn't eat it. My hubby liked it, but he is from Wisconsin and LOVES sauerkraut. Maybe it would be less tangy with a lesser amount of sauerkraut?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Well, to be honest....I made this as a joke on my family. I know, but we have an evil streak when it comes to our humor! But let me tell you...it is wonderful! The joke was on me! I used self rising flour and omitted the soda and salt. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I just used 2% instead. Other than that, I didn't change a thing. Oh, I rinsed the kraut many many times, then I took kitchen sissors and cut it up very fine. My kids won't eat coconut because of the texture...I was trying to avoid that. It almost looked like a chocolate mousse when I poured it into the pan. I didn't know what to expect. But the house sure smelled good. It cooked for the full 45 minutes. Afterwards I trimmed the top so I would lay flat on my pan. I didn't tell one about the kraut and the kids went to town on it! You can see the kraut just a bit, but not too much. They loved it. Very moist and good, especially warm. We won't frost this one...and I'll be sure to make it again and again. This one is very much worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRAMBUESA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
The idea of sauerkraut in cake is revolting...but you HONESTLY cannot taste it in here. It being in the cake has about the same affect as putting applesauce in. I nearly tossed my cookies at the thought of me seeing a strand of kraut in my cake, so I put it in the food processor before adding it and I liked that a lot better. I frosted this with a coconut/pecan icing and everyone liked it. I would have given this cake a 5 because it was really moist and had a nice soft texture but it just wasn't very chocolately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I didn't care for this recipe. I had trouble getting the sauerkraut to mix well (even though I did chop it first), it tended to clump. The end result wasn't very chocolaty. I was intrigued by the sauerkraut in the recipe, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made this cake yesterday mostly out of curiosity. I followed the recipe, except I used half dark and half lite brown sugar. I used a chocolate frosting and baked it in 2 9" round cake pans. It was simply delicious! Keep in mind when choosing a frosting, the cake itself is only mildly sweet. We loved the unique texture and flavor of this wonderful cake. I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was a really moist, delicious chocolate cake. I served it to colleagues and they all loved it -- no one could believe there was sauerkraut lurking in there. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I made this recipe mostly out of curiosity, because I couldn't imagine sauerkraut in a cake. But it was very good! I chopped the sauerkraut so that it wasn't long and stringy. It had the consistency of coconut, which went well with the German Chocolate frosting. Very good, and I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States