Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good. I used 2/3 cup milk in place of the water after reading other reviews. Turned out a little thick after it cooled so I stirred in couple TBSP milk to get my desired consistency. 10-18-08: The consistency of the sauce is perfect when I use 1 cup milk in place of the 1 1/4 cups water with out adding extra milk at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
526 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Wonderful ! With 5 kids and a husband who eat ice cream almost every night, the cost of chocolate syrup gets up there a bit. I changed it a bit - 1/2 c white corn syrup (thickened it just enough), 1/2 c milk and 1/4 c water, instead of the 1 1/4 c water. It's perfect this way. Just the consistency of Hersheys. Kids say we should "never buy the store stuff again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
My boyfriend thought that this was great! I did what someone suggested and added the 1/2 cup white syrup, 1/2 cup milk and 1/4 cup water instead of the 1 1/4 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This recipe was so easy and it was exactly what I was looking for. I have tried 3 others before this one, and when you put them in the fridge they are too thick (consistency of peanut butter). This one is truly a sauce. I did use milk instead of water and added 2 Tbsp corn syrup to thicken it a bit. I can put this recipe in the fridge and without having to heat it up when I take it out, I can pour it on anything I want. I put the sauce in little jars, and will hand them out at my chocolate tasting party this weekend. It makes a great gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
A rich chocolate flavor, definitely will come in handy for all sorts of things =) I used 1 cup water. I let it boil for 5mins, stirring constantly, to let it thicken some more. It also thickens as it cools, so don't worry if it seems runny at first. Even better- its almost fat free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
After reading the reviews, I cut the water down to a cup & simmered it (over low heat so as not to burn) for about 5 minutes. It was still pretty thin but OK. Poured it into a hershey's chocolate syrup bottle I had saved & used it in my grandson's milk. He was happy so I am too. Thansk for the recipe...I don't think hershey's is going to get any more of my money. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This sauce is wonderful! Add a pince of cinnamon for a little mexican touch. It takes a few minutes of stirring to cook...it is well worth any efforts put forth in stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was really easy to put together and tasted good too. I used milk instead of water and spread this over a shortbread crust. I was out of vanilla so I substituted almond extract and had good results. Will use this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Good taste. Cook in a pot big enough to avoid boiling over. The best part - low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was fantastic. But I did make a few changes. Use very high quality cocoa. The darker the better. Whisk the sugar and cocoa together until no lumps remain in the pot before adding other ingredients. I used 1 cup of skim milk. Stir, using a whisk, the chocolate mixture constantly over medium heat. Once the mixture comes to a boil, stir constantly for 1 minute. The timer on the stove comes in handy for that. Immediately remove from the heat, and stir in 1 tsp of butter until it's melted. Let the chocolate sauce cool completely for several hours, stirring occasionally. It thickens as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States