Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe at least 10 times with the exact ingredients listed and it is delicious! My boys can't tell the difference (I saved an old Hershey's bottle and put it in there) The only change I make is that I let it boil on low for 5 minutes to thicken it, and it also thickens as it chills. Try it- you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Very good! Most of the bottled chocolate syrups contain high fructose corn syrup and other ingredients we don't bring home. With this recipe I can use organic products. This is my second time to use the recipe. My husband likes it in his coffee. This time, I started the water boiling while I measured the cocoa and sugar into a bowl. Stirring the sugar and cocoa smoothed the small lumps and it dissolved quickly in the hot water. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of salt with the sugar. And added 1/4 cup coconut oil (butter would be good, also) with the vanilla. Also, I boiled it for five minutes. Expect a thin consistency with a full, rich chocolaty flavor. --It makes more than two cups of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barriemarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Great recipe, tastes so real, and only takes a few minutes to make! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam.Mallais

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a simple and great chocolate sauce. For those of you who want something a little thicker and creamier but still low fat, add 4 marshmallows. It gives it the perfect consistency with not much added fat. Also, you can add a coffee whitener if in a pinch, about 4 tablespoons. I live in Japan and chocolate sauce is incredibly expensive. This was a lifesaver. Add 3/4 tbsps of mint extract for a great chocolate mint sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This reminds me of the chocolate sauce we used to use you know, way back. I do substitute milk and a bit of cream for the water. Oh and use good cocoa as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Kuhre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Good recipe... I used milk instead of water. Simple, quick and good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
When you are craving chocolate and have none in the house, this is quick and easy with ingredients on hand, and it tastes good. Maybe not as great as thick hot fudge sauce in a jar that you heat in micro, but good enough to satisfy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Easy sauce to make. Tastes delish! If you are looking for a fudge sauce this IS NOT it, as this chocolate sauce is a thinner liquid. Great for chocolate milk or over Cheerios in milk :). I have it stored in the fridge in an airtight glass jar. Other posts had complained it tasted too much like Hersey's, and it does, but the point of homemade goods is knowing the ingredients of what you're eating/making/drinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I also added a pinch of ground cinnamon for warmth. Not bad for such a simple recipe. I think I will try another next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great sauce, followed the method of the recipe as written, with exception to the liquids. I added the amount of liquids the recipe calls for, except I used 1/2 water and 1/2 cream. Next time, I will make with half and half for all the liquid. The flavor of the sauce is perfect. The thickness is what you would find from a bottled syrup. Adding the milk would thicken it, and I do prefer the thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States