Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Had a craving for chocolate syrup to go with my vanilla ice cream so of course went here to find a recipe to make my own. I followed the recipe except for using the other reviewers advice to use 1 cup milk instead of the water and it was perfect! I should have used a medium saucepan because it was hard to keep it from boiling over. I didn't realize it would bubble up so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Found this July 11, 2009 when my husband informed me he was out of chocolate sauce for his ice cream. He loves it and said don't buy chocolate sauce again this is to so much better, I have made 3 batches in a month because we have used several different ways. Great mixed with maple syrup for pancakes. I read all the reviews and prefer the thicker sauce using less water or canned milk and adding 2 tablespoons butter at the end with vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cplong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
mmmm...mmm..delicious!...I have made this 2 times now...I used 1 C milk and added 1 T corn syrup, about 1/3 of my cocoa was "special dark"..it is perfect! It's wonderful over ice cream, in milk & in coffee! Super easy to make...The kids love it! So much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This recipe is phenomenal. I read all the reviews about the consistency problems and went with on 1 cup of water. I panicked a little when it wasn't thickening but DON'T ALTER THE RECIPE!!! It thickens right up as it cools.just as another reviewer said. I let mine cool for a good 3 hours in the fridge and it was perfect. and I totally agree with the other reviewer that said Hershey gets no more of her money. this is a really easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshinEquine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
great taste, so easy! I used half splenda, half sugar, all ingredients in amounts stated except reduced water to 1 cup, and it really is good. also added a pinch of cinnamon. Why buy hershey's when you can make this????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I used as is but I used less sugar and it came out with a rich bittersweet taste it was great. It froze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This recipe is a good start but it is much better when made with milk. I tried it with 1 cup of milk in place of the water like other reviews suggested and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I know this is one of the "diet be damned" things to do, but I replaced the water with whipping cream. It was the best chocolate sauce I have ever tasted. I tried making it again a few days ago and added a splash of Bailey's with the vanilla. Heavenly! I'm only giving it four stars though because without the changes it's good, but not "the Best!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was a HUGE hit with my kids, who haven't really ever had anything other than berries on their vanilla ice cream. We are careful about having pure ingredients in our diet and this definitely works! I am anxious to try it in chocolate milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This sauce was amazing. I only used cocoa powder, sugar, water and a pinch of salt. I did use less water than the recipe called for and it was nice and thick. My whole family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States