Chocolate Sandwich Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I wasn't sure what to make of this recipe before I made it (all I could picture is whoopie pies, which is two small cakes with filling inside). This is not whoopie pie! The texture of the cookies is not really cookies, more like brownies. A few things; 1) The "cookie batter" is really hard to stir. I mixed this with my hands, like a meatloaf. 2) Make sure you use parchment paper on the pans. I made my first batch on a regular cookie sheet sprayed with non-stick spray and those babies were hard to get off without deforming them. 3) I used a number 40 scoop to make sure I had an even amount of batter so I would get the same sized cookie but you could use a Tbls x 2. I changed up the filling a bit by adding 1/2 stick of butter, 1tsp vanilla, and a Tbls of milk. Popped it in a zip lock bag, cut off the end and "piped" the filling on a cookie and topped with the second cookie. These were wonderful! Very tasty and different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This recipe was really easy to make. We found we liked it better when the cookies were not cooked as long (maybe 9 min) so they were a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I love this recipe! I actually got it from a friend of mine, but she uses my absolute favorite cake mix, RED VELVET! The Red Velvet cookies are awesome, as are Carrot Cake and Butter Pecan. The Butter Pecan are very sweet though...I want to try it with just a yellow or white cake mix and see how they taste...Here are some changes/things I do: first, I don't roll them into balls, I just use the Pampered Chef small scoop and they turn out the perfect size. Also, my icing is a bit different. It won't taste so cream cheesey this way - I use 1 block cream cheese softened, 1 stick butter softened, 4 cups powdered sugar (which is one box), and 1 teaspoon vanilla....SO YUMMY!!! I keep these in the fridge also! Try the Red Velvet if it is available in your area... YUM-O!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I used 2 regular cake mixes 'cause that is what I had. Great cookies. I needed to bake full 12 minutes. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luck, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Outstanding! I loved these because they are so unique and taste like little chocolate cheesecakes without the plate and fork to serve to a crowd. I was skeptical about the cake mix but I used two packages of devil's food cake mix and the cookies were extra chocolatey like ice cream sandwich cookies. I made the balls to flatten about half the size though so they turned out the size of a normal cookie rather than a giant one. Much more attractive this way. Also, I would cut the icing sugar in half next time. There was so much confectioners sugar that you could barely taste the cream cheese. I'll start with one cup and add to taste if necessary. I'm sure that way, it would have earned a 5-star rating from me. A keeper recipe for sure! I brought them to work and people actually came and found me after having one, usually with an "OMG" comment :) Enjoy! dee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Update:2/2011- This has been such a go to recipe for me for a quick dessert. But today I out did myself. I made the cookies with red velvet cake mix and I filled them with cream cheese frosting with mini chocolate chips.Then for Valentines I stenciled a powdered sugar heart on the top cookies. They looked amazing and they tasted so good! WOW!! Great recipe. My husband came in late tonight but wanted a dessert. I threw these together and we had a great tasting snack in time for our favorite program. The only substitution was canned icing and it worked great! Update: I have since made this recipe with butter cake mix adding in a tsp of almond liquer and 1/2 cup finely chopped almonds. I put them togather with orange marmelade and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I got this recipe long ago from a camp cook and when I found I lost the recipe I went looking...so glad I found it! Although I don't make these often, everytime I do I wonder why I don't. Try them frozen - they taste like an amazing ice cream sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I just made these great cookies for our bake sale. They were the first thing to leave. I did use a different cake mix. I used triple fudge cake mix{BETTY Cr} and I used Devils food Cake mix{Pislbury}, I was concern over the cookies being hard. I felt as though the fudge mix would bring in softness. let me tell you it did, and did not have a fudgy softness, but just perrrrrfect, and it had mini chips in it, next time i might add WHITE chips to them. For the cream, i followed another person recommendation here, and added the 1TBLSP milk, teaspoon vanilla, and 1/2 stick butter. I made my butter room temp. I then scooped it all up after mix it, placed it in a ziplock bag,cutt the end and used it as a pastery bag. Be careful not to over fill because the crem is not thick, and don't press the cookie down to hard, Just fill them and let them sit.This was really great that way. I am keeping this recipe. My kids loved it, and the parents raved over them, Not to mention SUPER QUICK!!!.. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I made this and it was soooo easy! Tastes really good too! I used two random chocolate cake mixes that i found sitting in the pantry and one had mini chocolate chips in it which was kind of a nice touch to th cookie...I might have to make more though because I'm taking them to a party tonight and I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I added a little mint extract for half of the batch. So good dunked in hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States