Chocolate Sandwich Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My sister in law made this cookie years ago, but she put crushed candy cane in the filling....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
They were pretty good, nothing too special. However they were very fast and easy with only 3 ingredients and store-bought frosting. I strongly recommend undercooking them otherwise they do end up hard and not nearly as good. I made them smaller than in the instructions and only baked them for 7-8 minutes but I should have done even less still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are awesome! I just used 2 boxes of regular chocolate cake mix instead of the dark and low calorie. They're also great with a peanut butter frosting filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I love this recipe and so does everyone else when I make it. Just curious if anyone has tried freezing the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcastro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! I prefer more cream cheese in my cream cheese frosting so I used 16 oz cream cheese as well as a small amount of whipping cream to lighten it up. It was phenomenal and all of my co-workers were begging for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Made the recipe as-is, and am rating it as such. I dislike it when people rate their own variations of the recipe instead of the recipe AS WRITTEN. That being said (steps off the soap box, lol), I did follow a few things the second time around that were in the review boxes: 1. I mixed the dough with my hands. Probably not the best idea, since the chocolate got EVERYWHERE. That stuff is STICKY. Mix with a wooden spoon and 'fold' the dough instead of mixing it with your hands. 2. Timing of the cookies is perfect, I cooked them for 11 minutes (I fit about 12 cookies per cookie sheet with parchment paper). The only thing I changed the second time around was I really smashed the cookies down with the heel of my hand, made the cookies look more like the picture when they came out! 3. Using my hands, I scooped out 2 tablespoons of cookie dough per cookie (I didn't have an appropriate scooper), and it made the cookies nice and even-looking. 4. Let the cookies dry COMPLETELY before icing them. The first time I put icing and I ended up with mushy cookie all over my hands. This time I covered the cookies with a clean towel and let them sit on the cooling racks for 1.5 hours before icing them with a spoon. One big dollop of icing per cookie (about a tablespoon) and it worked good. Best of luck! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made these cookies using Butter Recipe Fudge cake mixes as that was my only option. Ended up dropping them onto the cookie sheets as the batter was too soft to roll. I made the mistake of flattening them slightly and the first two batches were paper thin and unusable. Switched to a mini scoop with no flattening and they baked perfectly in about 10 minutes. I made Faux-reo filling, my favorite, and the cookies are cute and delicious. The frosting does overpower the chocolate cookie a bit, so next time I hope to find the dark chocolate cake mix called for in the recipe. Fun and yummy to make with my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I make these all the time for my husband's work(which is all family relation) and they all like these. I use different chocoalte cake mixes and some times switch the filling in the middle. I have used the one with the recipes, a peant butter one, and a cream one. No matter what these turn out wonderful! I will continue making these as they are not costly to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Yum Yum Yum! These went like hot cakes when my husband took them to work. Kids loved them too...but what's not to love! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Great recipe. I brought them to a company picnic and they won me the cookie competition. Only changes I made was to make the cookie smaller, using a melon baller, baked for 8 minutes and used pre-made cream cheese frosting. Everyone loved them. They were the first thing gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States