Chocolate Sandwich Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Yummy. Yummy, Yummy. Made these cookies on a whim one night and they are our new favorites. Made 1/2 batch according to recipe Then added crushed candy canes the cream cheese mixture for the second 1/2. Too Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I wasn't sure what to make of this recipe before I made it (all I could picture is whoopie pies, which is two small cakes with filling inside). This is not whoopie pie! The texture of the cookies is not really cookies, more like brownies. A few things; 1) The "cookie batter" is really hard to stir. I mixed this with my hands, like a meatloaf. 2) Make sure you use parchment paper on the pans. I made my first batch on a regular cookie sheet sprayed with non-stick spray and those babies were hard to get off without deforming them. 3) I used a number 40 scoop to make sure I had an even amount of batter so I would get the same sized cookie but you could use a Tbls x 2. I changed up the filling a bit by adding 1/2 stick of butter, 1tsp vanilla, and a Tbls of milk. Popped it in a zip lock bag, cut off the end and "piped" the filling on a cookie and topped with the second cookie. These were wonderful! Very tasty and different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I made this and it was soooo easy! Tastes really good too! I used two random chocolate cake mixes that i found sitting in the pantry and one had mini chocolate chips in it which was kind of a nice touch to th cookie...I might have to make more though because I'm taking them to a party tonight and I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Update:2/2011- This has been such a go to recipe for me for a quick dessert. But today I out did myself. I made the cookies with red velvet cake mix and I filled them with cream cheese frosting with mini chocolate chips.Then for Valentines I stenciled a powdered sugar heart on the top cookies. They looked amazing and they tasted so good! WOW!! Great recipe. My husband came in late tonight but wanted a dessert. I threw these together and we had a great tasting snack in time for our favorite program. The only substitution was canned icing and it worked great! Update: I have since made this recipe with butter cake mix adding in a tsp of almond liquer and 1/2 cup finely chopped almonds. I put them togather with orange marmelade and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These cookies are fast, easy, and good. Make sure to use quality cake mixes. The chocolate taste in cheaper brands isn't strong enough to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Simple, fast and delicious. I used two regular chocolate mixes and added chocolate chips. I didn't have an opportunity to make the frosting because my husband and kids came home and the cookies went straight from the cooling rack into them. They all gave the cookies 5 stars as well. Definitely a new favorite in our house. Thanks Anne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Super duper easy! Huge hit! Next time I might just use a can frosting and make mine smaller. They were just great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Very easy. I had only 1 devil's food cake mix, so I cut the recipe in half. We also liked the softer cookie so opted for less baking time. Filling is very sweet. I will likely experiment with marshmallow creme filling or buttercream & cool whip filling for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I got this recipe long ago from a camp cook and when I found I lost the recipe I went looking...so glad I found it! Although I don't make these often, everytime I do I wonder why I don't. Try them frozen - they taste like an amazing ice cream sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States