Chocolate Sandwich Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I love these! I make them during the holidays and they are always a big hit. They are easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Out of 5 kids, only one thought that this was good. I must say, I didn't care for these either. One didn't like the cookie. The others didn't like the filling with the cookie. I'll give it three stars because I can use the filling for another recipe. By the reviews, I do think this is a good recipe, just not for my famliy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 ft. Cutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Great Recipe! I used this for a Christmas cookie exchange & added red/green food coloring to the icing. Very cute, but they didn't travel well. Tasted great! I made 1 inch balls & cooked them 7 minutes for a smaller cookie. For the filling I used 1/2 stick butter & creamed it with the cream cheese, then vanilla, & powdered sugar. They are delicious! Taste even better out of the fridge. I agree with another writer that peppermint would be good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These are delicious. I used store bought vanilla icing instead of making the icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Made a half batch as a test for an upcoming cookie exchange. I'll definitely be taking these with a few modifications. The cookie itself is awesome and oh so easy. It's soft and gooey, but holds up well to being handled. The reason only 4 stars for this recipe is the filling leaves something to be desired. As is, it's not nearly thick enough. I doubled the cream cheese and added some butter. It still oozed when I ate it, but I'll bet they'll set up in the fridge and be really good by tomorrow. I also think that these would make awesome icecream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I just made these great cookies for our bake sale. They were the first thing to leave. I did use a different cake mix. I used triple fudge cake mix{BETTY Cr} and I used Devils food Cake mix{Pislbury}, I was concern over the cookies being hard. I felt as though the fudge mix would bring in softness. let me tell you it did, and did not have a fudgy softness, but just perrrrrfect, and it had mini chips in it, next time i might add WHITE chips to them. For the cream, i followed another person recommendation here, and added the 1TBLSP milk, teaspoon vanilla, and 1/2 stick butter. I made my butter room temp. I then scooped it all up after mix it, placed it in a ziplock bag,cutt the end and used it as a pastery bag. Be careful not to over fill because the crem is not thick, and don't press the cookie down to hard, Just fill them and let them sit.This was really great that way. I am keeping this recipe. My kids loved it, and the parents raved over them, Not to mention SUPER QUICK!!!.. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Yummo! I like these a lot. I used a normal calorie mix, and I cut back on the confectioners sugar by half also. I made two batches of the filling just to see what the difference was and I believe that using 2 cups of confection sugar makes it sweeter but drowneds out the flavor of the cream cheese. If you like it more of a tangy cheese flavor, only use 1 cup. My opinion. With 2 cups the texture seems more silky though like a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
***SO GOOD***You will not be disappointed if you try this. I used two boxes of Devils Food cake mix because that's all I had on hand. For the filling I used 4oz softened cream cheese and 1/2 stick of butter (4T), creamed those together and then added approx 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 1 T milk, and 1 T vanilla. Before I added the powdered sugar I only poured 2 cups and slowly added more to get the right consistency I was looking for. The cookie itself is like a Oreo Cakester. They were a big hit and will definitely make again. Thanks Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELITA27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These were really good and so easy my 11-year-old daughter made them by herself! I gave them 4 stars because we weren't crazy about the filling. We are definitely going to make them again, but might incorporate some of the suggested changes for the filling. My daughter would like a filling more like a whoopie pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
These didn't do it for me. I used two boxes of german chocolate cake and per the advice of others trimmed down the powdered suger to about 1 1/2 cups. I thought these lacked taste and there wasn't enough cream cheese frosting. My husband really like them so I will probably experiment with different cake flavors to see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States