Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Easy and delicious. Reduced the rum butter glaze in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Made this for Christmas and everyone loved it! ***make sure:**** you make it at least 3-5 days before you want to eat it. All these alcohol cakes really need to sit. Also,when the cake is cool use a long chop stick/kabob poker to make holes all over! I'm talking a hole every 1/2 inch everywhere. I followed directions exactly (I only had Bacardi rum btw) and it came out great. Use ALL the amounts.... Nothing was "too strong".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe said. It was good but the next time I make it (and there will be a next time) I will either use a stronger tasting rum or I will replace more of the water with rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Have made this multiple times since I discovered it in July......OMG!!!! It is to die for!!! The new problem I am having is that the new cake mixes are 16.5 oz instead of the 18.25 recommended in this recipe.....I made it today without noticing that it had gotten smaller and my cake shrunk down after it started cooling.....it is not as big and fluffy as the previous. I have made this 5 times and never had it fail.... How should I alter this recipe to fit the new 16.5 oz size cake mix. I compared the cake mixes and they are recommending less water in the new smaller mix than in the larger mix. I don't know how this figures in to this recipe. Please, someone who knows how to adjust recipes, HELP!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made this for a friend about a week ago. It was such a hit and we could not wait any longer - just made it for us. It is sooooo yummy. The only change I made was to cut back the sugar in the glaze to 1/2 cup of white sugar and then added 1/2 brown sugar to make up the difference. It made it so rich. It is very easy and super moist. It makes a beautiful cake and I will be making this over and over since we are chocolate lovers.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
It was a success amongst everyone at the dinner party! Thank you for everyone's feedback and suggestions improving this recipe. I used an organic all natural chocolate cake mix and pudding mix to achieve a home made wholesome ingredient recipe. I substituted dark spiced rum, Chairman's reserve spiced rum, for the white rum. I used 3/8 a cup rum and 1/8 cup water for the glaze. I made it the day before. I made holes in the bottom of the cake before taking it out of the pan and poured half of the glaze in the cake. I waited almost an hour. I took the cake out of the pan then made holes in the top and poured the rest of the glaze in the cake. I covered it with plastic wrap and left it on the counter overnight. Just before serving, I sprinkled confectionery sugar on the top to dress it up. Exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darrell A. Coleman
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This Recipe Was Great. Very Easy To Make. A Big Hit With Family & Friends. Extremely Good !!! Darrell A.Coleman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrell A. Coleman

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very good as written but felt that dark rum gave more flavor....at least if you like a stronger rum taste. Definintely allow to sit for a couple of days before using to develop the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Super easy to make and DELICIOUS! Cake turns out soft and moist. I added 1 dark chocolate bar to the original glaze - yum!!! My husband loves this cake with vanilla ice cream! I'll be saving this recipe on my favorites! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States