Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This cake is delicious!! The only problem is everyone wanted to keep swiping the icing from the plate with their finger! I will follow others' recommendation to poke holes in it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minesmom
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
High altitude changes. Add 2 TBL. flour, 1 TBL oil, 1 TBL rum or water. I also poked holes in the cake while it was still in the pan with a wood screwier poured half the glaze. The turn it on a plate and poked more holes and rest of the glaze. I then made a chocolate rum ganache. 1 cup heavy cream to boil. poured it over 9 oz bittersweet chocolate and 1 TBL. rum. then drizzled it over the cake I refrigerated overnight. Then place 12 whole pecans identifying each piece. It was a smash at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
WONDERFUL cake, and the easiest to make. The rum flavor is very light so don't be worried it will be overpowering, it isn't. My new oven baked these at 45 minutes tho so, yes, check earlier then the 50 mentioned in recipe. Hurry and try this. Thanks Suzanne for the delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Pour the rum mixture over the cake while it is still in the pan. After a couple of hours, flip it out so the juices will distribute evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I have been looking for a recipe for chocolate rum cake that lives up to the expensive (imported from the caribbean) one I bought at a duty-free shop in the Cayman Islands. I think I have found it. This cake was scrumptious. The photo with strawberries does not look at all like the cake, though. It is a lot more appealing with the crown of almonds in real life. Best of all, this cake was easy, easy, easy. No one believed it had a cake mix in it. I did substitute dark spiced rum for the white rum in the batter, but used white rum in the glaze. I like the spiced rum for the extra flavor it imparts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Extremely outstanding!!! I recommend this. Though, I did use white rum instead of the other. Still tasted great, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was really good. I give it four stars because not that many people shared y opinion. I love rum and chocolate AND cake so this was a dream come true for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Moist and delicious! Not too strong. Just right! The nuts on the top are the best idea and the reciepe is easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGibby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Amazingly moist and delicious! I made this cake for my husband's birthday (it was his request) and there wasn't a crumb left! I took the advise of others and used Meyers dark rum. I also poked holes in it before glazing and made it the night prior to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiveStones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe is awesome! Even though it uses "boxed" ingredients, the flavors are both sophisticated and sublime! Age the finished product for a day under plastic wrap and it becomes even better. I would love to be able to suspend a cup more of walnuts within the matrix or perhaps use some walnut oil in place of the vegetable oil as the flavor combination is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADOF7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States