Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This cake was just scrumptious , the only thing I changed was I used Banana Rum. Everyone wanted a second helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lionspaw32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I just made this for my uncle's 60th birthday and not only did it smell amazing but it tastes divine as well. I used golden rum only and omitted the pudding (subbing in 3 tbs of hot fudge topping) plus I used a mixture of almonds, peanuts and pecans...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Loved this recipe - it was quick and easy to make and family raved for it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was just ok. I used spiced rum because it seemed like it would be more flavorful. I didn't think the cake was anything special, but it was good enough. I made it for a Christmas party and this was the general consensus...it was different but didn't have that WOW factor I assumed it would. I'm sure some people would like this so I'm sure it's worth a try, but I probably won't bother with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I wish I could give this 6 stars! It is an amazing cake and super easy. I follow the directions exactly and always can depend on a superb turnout. One thing I do is poke little holes in the top with a toothpick before pouring the glaze on. It seems like that lets the glaze soak in deeper. It's always better the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a Wonderful cake! I baked this one, and a gluten free one using the Betty Crocker gluten free chocolate cake mix. Despite the runny appearance of the GF cake batter, it baked up just as tasty and firm as the primary cake. A good alternative for folks with wheat allergies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebrenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Took this cake to work last week and entered it into a dessert contest. Woohoo! I won first prize. Everyone asked for the recipe. Absolutely delish, and very moist. A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This cake was very easy to make and it was moist and delicious. My company and my husband really enjoyed it. I did read some reviews and I agree to poke hole in the cake before putting the glaze over it, and to make it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I won the office Holiday Bake-Off with this recipe! It was my very first time baking it, and everything came out scrumptious! Topped it with the Chocolate Ganache recipe....Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My husband accused me of trying to kill him by having such irresistible decadence in the house when he finished his first piece and headed back for a second. He was sure my plot was to have time die of sugar overdose from eating the whole cake. But seriously, what a way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States