Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
FABULOUS!!! I gave this out over the holidays and everyone raved and wanted the recipe! I did make a few changes... I used Meyers rum instead of white rum in both the cake & the glaze. I also substituted brown sugar for the white sugar in the glaze. I used mini Bundt pans (to make 6 cakes)and decreased the cooking time until a toothpick or knife inserted came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
What could be better than chocolate and rum mixed together? My only suggestions are that you use light rather than white rum, and make it a day ahead so that the flavors have time to improve. This cake is delicious and moist, plus it's easy to make. MMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Pour the rum mixture over the cake while it is still in the pan. After a couple of hours, flip it out so the juices will distribute evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
WOW! This is fantastic- definitely let the glaze soak in overnight- I love rum cake and this recipe was delicious! A definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Made cake for my mother's bridge group. Poked holes in top of cake with long two prong fork (after baking.) Then I used measuring cup to pour small amounts of glaze, repeating procedure after glaze soaked into cake. The men liked the cake because it was not too sweet and had a lot of moisture. It probably tasted better because I made day before serving, refrigerated overnight, cut in serving pieces about four hours before serving at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Yum! Very easy, tasty and it smells fabulous. It was a big hit at a recent family Christmas party. I used Myers Rum instead of white rum in both cake and glaze, replaced a little of the water in the glaze with rum, and replaced 1/2 C of white sugar with dark brown sugar in the glaze as well. I may add a little cinnamon to this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Very good and moist! I'm a "scratch" baker and thought it would taste like a boxed recipe but surprisingly good! I cut down the sugar a bit for the glaze but excellent! gobbled up. Lots of ideas for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
The batter is very dense, which I wasn't expecting. Also, I recommend making this a day ahead to let the rum glaze sink in. It will be moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great! Very easy recipe for such a nice cake. I didn't have any regular white rum so I used coconut flavored rum. It didn't get a coconut flavor like I thought it would and it was still great. My cake turned out very moist. The only problem was that I had no leftovers to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
THIS CAKE WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND VERY TASTY!! iT WAS EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY AFTER BEING REFRIDGERATED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States