Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
FABULOUS!!! I gave this out over the holidays and everyone raved and wanted the recipe! I did make a few changes... I used Meyers rum instead of white rum in both the cake & the glaze. I also substituted brown sugar for the white sugar in the glaze. I used mini Bundt pans (to make 6 cakes)and decreased the cooking time until a toothpick or knife inserted came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
What could be better than chocolate and rum mixed together? My only suggestions are that you use light rather than white rum, and make it a day ahead so that the flavors have time to improve. This cake is delicious and moist, plus it's easy to make. MMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Pour the rum mixture over the cake while it is still in the pan. After a couple of hours, flip it out so the juices will distribute evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
WOW! This is fantastic- definitely let the glaze soak in overnight- I love rum cake and this recipe was delicious! A definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Made cake for my mother's bridge group. Poked holes in top of cake with long two prong fork (after baking.) Then I used measuring cup to pour small amounts of glaze, repeating procedure after glaze soaked into cake. The men liked the cake because it was not too sweet and had a lot of moisture. It probably tasted better because I made day before serving, refrigerated overnight, cut in serving pieces about four hours before serving at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Yum! Very easy, tasty and it smells fabulous. It was a big hit at a recent family Christmas party. I used Myers Rum instead of white rum in both cake and glaze, replaced a little of the water in the glaze with rum, and replaced 1/2 C of white sugar with dark brown sugar in the glaze as well. I may add a little cinnamon to this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Very good and moist! I'm a "scratch" baker and thought it would taste like a boxed recipe but surprisingly good! I cut down the sugar a bit for the glaze but excellent! gobbled up. Lots of ideas for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great! Very easy recipe for such a nice cake. I didn't have any regular white rum so I used coconut flavored rum. It didn't get a coconut flavor like I thought it would and it was still great. My cake turned out very moist. The only problem was that I had no leftovers to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
The batter is very dense, which I wasn't expecting. Also, I recommend making this a day ahead to let the rum glaze sink in. It will be moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
THIS CAKE WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND VERY TASTY!! iT WAS EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY AFTER BEING REFRIDGERATED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States