Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My dad used to make it every Christmas and i used to have the recipie but it got lost and here it is again! YUMMY YUMMY!!!! This cake didn't last long at all!!!! And, its SOOO easy to make you can make it anytime! This was a crowd pleaser even my 3 yr old loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferandRichmond Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great! Very easy recipe for such a nice cake. I didn't have any regular white rum so I used coconut flavored rum. It didn't get a coconut flavor like I thought it would and it was still great. My cake turned out very moist. The only problem was that I had no leftovers to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
WOW! This is fantastic- definitely let the glaze soak in overnight- I love rum cake and this recipe was delicious! A definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I took this cake to a party and everyone enjoyed it so much they were picking the crumbs off the empty plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Very good and moist! I'm a "scratch" baker and thought it would taste like a boxed recipe but surprisingly good! I cut down the sugar a bit for the glaze but excellent! gobbled up. Lots of ideas for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
YUM YUM This cake is delish. I also made it using yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This was a really good recipe. Not an overpowering rum taste, just a nice flavor, and a very moist cake. I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts; and made sure I could get it out of the bundt pan prior to pouring the glaze over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I made this for my husband's office party and it was a big hit. One thing I did differently was to mix more nuts into the batter just because I like it that way. It gets better the longer you let it sit for the glaze to soak in. I didn't give it five stars because I'm not a fan of boxed cake mix. Even though it has an excellent flavor, you can still tell it began with a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMHOPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minden, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lansing, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
What could be better than chocolate and rum mixed together? My only suggestions are that you use light rather than white rum, and make it a day ahead so that the flavors have time to improve. This cake is delicious and moist, plus it's easy to make. MMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This makes a very rich and moist cake. I served it at a party to 10 ladies and 3 of them asked for the recipe. I am bringing this to another function tomorrow. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States