Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Took this to an end-of-season soccer party and, now, 2 weeks later, parents are still asking me for the recipe. (And, I didn't even have rum....I used Canadian whiskey.) It's delicious. Don't get apprehensive about pouring over the glaze. My first reaction was "Where is all of this liquid going to go?" Trust me....it finds a place. I took it warm to the party (probably about an hour after completing) and it was perfect. Next time, I'm using rum and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I loved this cake I had to alter it slightly because of what I had on hand. I didn't have any instant pudding but my cake mix had pudding in it. I also only had some dark rum which someone brought me from the Bahamas. Don't really care to drink it but it was great in the recipe. We had a couple pieces after I glazed it and my friend thought he had gone to heaven. Very moist and incredible rum flavor. It was also delicious the next day after a night in the fridge! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This cake was delicious!! The only changes I had to make were that I reduced the baking time to 40 minutes, and I replaced the walnuts for pecans and added more chopped peacans to the glaze. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cccmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I loved this recipe. I used the recipe with a tweak on the Rum. Cake was moist and tasty. I will definitely be making more of this cake throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arverne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
If you take this to a party, take the recipe too. You will be asked for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Wow, this is really nice - and pretty. I used artificial rum flavoring, so I tweaked the liquid to work with it. I also added some instant coffee and vanilla to the batter and to the glaze - and I sprinkled another 1/2c of chopped walnuts on the "bottom" of the cake before I baked it. -- I made 2 of these today. One the second one, I reduced the amount of liquid in the glaze to make it thicker. I think they both work nicely - jest depends on preference... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Really yummy, really easy and it impresses all your guests; what more could you ask for???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This rum cake was the Best!! And so so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greenwood, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Yummy, yummy, yummy! A few modifications due to what I had on hand. Only had coconut rum so I used a coconut pudding in the mix and used pecans and chopped coconut on the bottom of the bundt pan. It was delicious. Made a great big cake and the rum was just right. Definitely a keeper, and will make with other modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States