Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My husband accused me of trying to kill him by having such irresistible decadence in the house when he finished his first piece and headed back for a second. He was sure my plot was to have time die of sugar overdose from eating the whole cake. But seriously, what a way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I am rating this now even though we have not eaten it yet as I made the cake for a friend's birthday. However in tasting the batter during preparation it was amazing and it cooked up beautifully. Can't wait to dig in! Thanks for a fun and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This cake is delicious!! The only problem is everyone wanted to keep swiping the icing from the plate with their finger! I will follow others' recommendation to poke holes in it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minesmom
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
High altitude changes. Add 2 TBL. flour, 1 TBL oil, 1 TBL rum or water. I also poked holes in the cake while it was still in the pan with a wood screwier poured half the glaze. The turn it on a plate and poked more holes and rest of the glaze. I then made a chocolate rum ganache. 1 cup heavy cream to boil. poured it over 9 oz bittersweet chocolate and 1 TBL. rum. then drizzled it over the cake I refrigerated overnight. Then place 12 whole pecans identifying each piece. It was a smash at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
WONDERFUL cake, and the easiest to make. The rum flavor is very light so don't be worried it will be overpowering, it isn't. My new oven baked these at 45 minutes tho so, yes, check earlier then the 50 mentioned in recipe. Hurry and try this. Thanks Suzanne for the delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Pour the rum mixture over the cake while it is still in the pan. After a couple of hours, flip it out so the juices will distribute evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I have been looking for a recipe for chocolate rum cake that lives up to the expensive (imported from the caribbean) one I bought at a duty-free shop in the Cayman Islands. I think I have found it. This cake was scrumptious. The photo with strawberries does not look at all like the cake, though. It is a lot more appealing with the crown of almonds in real life. Best of all, this cake was easy, easy, easy. No one believed it had a cake mix in it. I did substitute dark spiced rum for the white rum in the batter, but used white rum in the glaze. I like the spiced rum for the extra flavor it imparts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Extremely outstanding!!! I recommend this. Though, I did use white rum instead of the other. Still tasted great, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was really good. I give it four stars because not that many people shared y opinion. I love rum and chocolate AND cake so this was a dream come true for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Moist and delicious! Not too strong. Just right! The nuts on the top are the best idea and the reciepe is easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGibby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States